Reality Check - the post covid edition in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • April 7, 2022, 10:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

WHERE:
Of course, I am in the bath! I woke feeling quite crap, everything hurt. So I took ibuprofen and curled up on the sofa where I stayed until I came up for the bath at 2pm. The sun is shining through the window (the bathroom is south facing) and the wind is racing around, slamming opened windows and roaring like a two year old who can’t get their way.

WEARING: belly bar, variety of earrings, finger rings and a bracelet.

FITNESS UPDATE:
Well, I sure as hell can’t run! Walking is bloody hard enough! I keep thinking of the money being wasted on my gym membership! Trying to eat healthily to replace any lost vitamins; rocket based salads, eggs, pate, fruit (loads of fruit), live yogurt etc. but sometimes I’m just too tired to prepare anything. Even being in the bath is uncomfortable because of my head leaning on a hard surface.

THE NEWS:
Fuck sake. What isn’t in the news while Will smacks people and some famous person changes their hairstyle? Other than the obvious, war in Ukraine, and that Arctic Ice is melting faster than ever before. It’s okay though, that opens up more bare Earth for us to all bury our heads in and pretend it isn’t happening.
Speaking of the war in Ukraine, there are a lot of US planes making their way to local air bases. The other night we were woken by two B52s. Those fuckers are loud. And why the fuck are they all amassing? I don’t think it’s ‘just in case’ is it? That’s a hell of a lot of billions to spend ‘just in case’.

READING:
Currently reading Michael Palin’s diaries. 1988-1998. That’s funny since I started ‘this’ diary in 1998. Michael reminds me of my dad in many ways. They’re a very similar age and grew up in similar situations in the north of the country (MP Sheffield, my dad Newcastle). Their mannerisms are so similar and my dad loved both Python and Michael’s travel programmes. When each programme finished I bought the accompanying book for my dad for Christmas. The main difference between them is that there’s no Way on this planet, in this universe at all that my dad would ever have tried the foods the Michael did in his travels! I’m fairly sure I know where L’s faddy genes come from!!

ACTIVITIES TODAY:
As little as humanely possible. Not so easy when T is having a meltdown because headphones are missing. They’ve been missing for weeks but because they are needed now, I have been informed that I need to find them. I’m in the bath sugar-dumpling, and I’m more tired and more dizzy than I was a week ago so, you know, suck it!

THINKING ABOUT:
Okay, so here’s The thing. Yesterday I watched six episodes of Bridgerton. In fact, I think I may be over-bridgertoned! Anyway, it helped me form a thought that had been wiffliing, unformed through my synapses.

Lazy writing.

I am by no means a book snob. I have hardly read any classics because my mind often wanders while I’m doing so. I read all different kinds of books and i also watch a lot of telly (that was brought on by lockdown). And this is a writing trope that really, really Irritates me.

Miscommunication.

So many stories would not exist if the main protagonists just talked to each other in chapter/episode one. You know, how people in the real world talk to each other. It really is just bollocks and a terrible choice to make in order to keep the reader/viewer hooked.

Rant done.

PLANNING:

God know. I wish I could plan. I have an urge to go shopping but I can’t walk across the living room without getting dizzy 🤷‍♀️

Long term, I plan to have my blood test, discover my B12 is a fuckton low again, get more injections and get some energy!!

And that is that. A rather anger driven reality check methinks.


Jodie April 07, 2022

Too bad there isn't a pill you can just take....But yeah get that shot then you will feel better. Listen to your body it knows better then you....I hope you will feel better and get the fun things done.

thesunnyabyss April 07, 2022

I hope B12 will help everything,

Totally agree about the lazy writing, it's everywhere lately.

Feel better and take it easy.

thesunnyabyss April 07, 2022

I just wanted to say that I saw your FB post about the geode nails and I looked at the one with all the photos of the different nail artists and yours are by far the nicest looking and most accurate for a geode challenge, really great job, especially considering you were so sick, you rock!

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ April 08, 2022

Thank you 😍 xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.