Good morning! in Welcome

  • June 3, 2014, 10:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel like poop today. As in, actually called in sick to work, although I could have totally gone to work if I really wanted to. But my calendar was mostly clear, and I could NOT get it together this morning. I phoned it in and went back to bed until 11. Now I'm showered and blow-dried and waiting for the word to meet up with my love, her bestie, and one of the new babies for a sushi lunch. Those babies love sushi.

Things keep happening and I keep wanting to write, but I'm out of the habit. I'm trying. Last weekend was Michelle's stepsister's wedding celebration. Friday night was a dinner party at Wicked Stepmother's house, which is on the water (canal/access to gulf). Halfway through dinner a party boat rolls up and we hop on to go sunset dolphin watching! So many dolphins. I've lived in this general area for always and see dolphins semi-regularly, but it is always magical. The boat ride was bizarrely short and we were heading back to the house when we heard snippets of conversation that explained the abrupt departure. The house was on fire. We thought it was a joke until we saw the fire trucks going over the bridge up ahead. Oy. Halfway back, we got the call that the fire was out and everything was okay, and WS was so medicated that she had them turn the boat back around and resume cruising. CRAZY WOMAN. Anyway, she forgot to extinguish the sterno under the food, probably a breeze caught a table cloth, and shit went up in flames. A neighbor across the canal spotted it right away and called the fire department. Then he drove around, hopped a fence, and put that shit out with the garden hose. The plastic table that held the food/sterno was completely melted, a few boards on the deck were charred (probably from the melted plastic), and the window casing had some burn marks. The house was otherwise unharmed.

That was only half of my weekend, but I just got the call that the ladies are ready to lunch. I wrote another entry a week or so ago (maybe longer?) but I don't know if anyone saw it. Check it out if you missed it. It is a bit of a catching-up on the last six months.

xo


Satine June 03, 2014

That is crazy about the fire but glad it all turned out okay!!! Everything else sounds lovely, as usual!

Chronic Ecstasy June 12, 2014

Gasp. You're here!! Holy mother this excites me. I miss you!

This lady is crazy. Srsly. How the crap could she concentrate enough to go back onto the water after there'd been a FIRE?!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.