“Nocturnals” are different in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • March 30, 2022, 5:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I like that quote about how the older you get the more quiet you become. I’ve always been quiet mostly, and a loner, except for a couple of periods in my life. So I guess I’m getting more solitary as I get older, but not quieter when I am around people. But quiet is what I savor most in life, and solitude is the best way for me to enjoy quietude.

As for wasting time, I don’t think I do very much of that. I realize that everything we do and have done, no matter how mundane, has a purpose and reason. It’s called living in every moment given to us, and the mere fact of our existence means nothing is “wasted,” not time nor any conceivable experience that occurs in time. Sometimes I think everything we do is destined to happen. But maybe that’s getting too philosophical. It’s a bit much for me at 5:30 am since I’m about ready to go to bed. It’s been a very productive night — no phone calls, texts or emails. Just pure blissful aloneness and solitude.

I personally wish that sleep was a huge waste of time, because I dislike it so heartily, and that’s one reason I’ve stayed up almost all night the past few years, and before that when I was working, I was usually never in bed before 2 or 3 am. I function pretty well on five ours of sleep. I don’t think I could get anymore if I tried.

Being up and reading, thinking, listening to music or watching videos from say, 1-4 am, is the purest form of relaxation, peace and quiet I can conceive of. There’s no pressure to do anything at all. Yes, I always feel the day is shorter than it has to be, but as a “nocturnal,” I’m okay with a limited amount of daylight. Where I live, we get full days of sunshine most of the time, so this helps my mood and creativity immensely.


Deleted user March 30, 2022 (edited March 30, 2022)

Edited

You, me, and Sartre, who said that sleep was indeed a waste of time.

Granted, that's not what human physiology says, and I am convinced my years of short sleep are going to give me Alzheimer's, but can't go back and fix it now!

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ March 30, 2022

Yes, what’s done is done. I’ve lived a decent time and accomplished a lot. I would fear for my sanity were it not the calm in the middle of the night. It’s always been this way.

Deleted user Oswego ⋅ March 30, 2022

3 a.m. is my favorite time.

Jinn March 30, 2022

I am a nocturnal too :-)

Oswego Jinn ⋅ March 30, 2022

Nocturnals of the world unite!

Jinn Oswego ⋅ March 30, 2022

:-) Ok

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.