Sharp Objects/The Day of the Triffids (REVIEWS) in Back entries: 2013 - 2015

  • June 3, 2014, 5:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not sure why I picked up Sharp Objects (Gillian Flynn, 328 pages including acknowledgements and reading notes). The story is about Camille Preaker, who is sent to investigate the disappearance of two young girls in the town she grew up in. However, she’s haunted by a family tragedy and problems within her family. The ending was somewhat predictable, and I struggled to become “involved” with the characters.

The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham (233 pages) is a fantastic read. When Bill Masen wakes up in his hospital bed and removes the bandages around his eyes, he realises he is one of the few who can see. The majority of the population has been rendered blind by a meteor shower. Not only that, but mankind is threatened by the dangerous triffids (deadly plants that can walk). The writing sucked me in from the first sentence. I tend to read when I’m on an exercise bike at the gym, and found myself in for a bit of a shock when I was at the end of my workout because I had to put the book down and pay attention to the real world. I was so engrossed in my reading! Worthwhile reading, and I’m glad I picked this up.


Last updated January 01, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.