Car washing nonsense in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • March 27, 2022, 11:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I spotted this bumper sticker the other day:

Warning: “DO NOT WASH! This vehicle is undergoing scientific dirt testing!”

Oh my gosh, I gotta have that bumper sticker. My old 2003 Honda sometimes doesn’t get washed for six months or more, depending on how much pollen, dirt and bird doo from flocks of avian visitors resting in the tree above my car gets deposited. Certain times of year are way worse than others.

Caution, Andy Rooney moment: i just can’t understand why on earth people will pay $25 or more to have their car run through a huge brusher tunnel and then have it hand-wiped dry by a surely exhausted group of dryers. I can’t even imagine doing that outdoors in the summer, either. Pure torture and they probably get paid just above the minimum wage.

When I was a teenager there was nothing I loathed quite so much as washing our car after my dad compelled me to do so each fine Sunday afternoon. “It isn’t even dirty,” I’d whine.

But Dad was merciless. “Why can’t you just do what I tell you to do?” That was never my strong point with Dad. I’d grumble and grouse, and then grab the soapy bucket of water, reach in to get the sponge, and then commence with that irksome chore.

My shrewd younger brother, however, when commanded to do this chore, agreeably said he get right to it, and then race off to do something else, while I angrily had to wash, not one but two cars in his stead.

“Much ado about nothing,” I say. However, I’d give in and finally wash my car when the birds had too obviously left their calling cards all over the hood and roof. Actually, it always looks pretty good after I finished and stood back to admire that rarest of sights for me — a sparkling clean car. But it won’t last long.


music & dogs & wine March 28, 2022

Andy Rooney! LOL I just heard the tick tick tick tick tick tick when I read that!

I am pretty good with my cars, since I lease, need to keep them nice to return. I am fortunate to be living next door to people who run a mobile car wash business, so they hand wash the inside and outside (and do a fantastic job) for $20 for me. It's well worth it to pull it out, park it on the street, and text my neighbors, "can you please wash my car today?" I love it.

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ March 28, 2022

Wow! You are a lucky one. I’d even do that. Lol

ConnieK March 28, 2022

I've never dealt with that, having had brothers, husband, and sons. One of them always did the chore. Ditto lawn mowing and taking out the trash.

MageB March 30, 2022

Don't forget to wax it too.

Oswego MageB ⋅ March 31, 2022

I confess, I’ve only waxed a car once!🥺

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.