Slice of life: The manifold joys of apartment living in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • March 24, 2022, 7:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m sitting on my fourth floor balcony at the new apartment. It’s a very pleasant morning. I’m reading online and enjoying an occasional brisk and delightful breeze, which then gently rustles my wind chimes.

This is a 55+ community, and while there are lots of people younger than me (70), there are lots older, too.

I just picked up a humorous, but telling snippet of conversation from down below in the parking area.

Voluble, cheery, and rather loud lady adresses a man in a motorized wheelchair:
“I hear you just put in some time at the ER.”

Man: “How’d you know that?”

Lady (laughing loudly): “Oh, I have eyes and ears all over this place.”

Hmmm. But I’m one nut she ain’t gonna crack anytime soon because I don’t know anyone here, and with all the enjoyable distractions I have in my life, I’m not in any hurry to be part of the gossip circuit!

That aside, I’m being a bit harsh. She’s probably a fun-loving type, the life of the party.


Deleted user March 24, 2022

Ah, the gossip circuit! lol...
R. and I talked about that today! We are not part of that circuit here either, but I have eyes and ears and know who is in because some people here are having hearing problems. Smiles!

Deleted user March 24, 2022

I wish we had those communities here.

Jinn March 24, 2022

I know people who live in those communities and there are always some that gossip horribly and the rest just soak it up .

Jinn March 24, 2022

Your balcony sounds uncommonly pleasant :-)

Oswego Jinn ⋅ March 26, 2022

I’m liking it more and more.

woman in the moon March 24, 2022

A little eavesdropping is often a good thing. Poor guy - let's hope he's doing well.
I look forward to hearing more about apartment living.

Oswego woman in the moon ⋅ March 26, 2022

I del sure I’ll be posting more on apartment life.😌

ConnieK March 24, 2022

Keep a friendly distance. Too much chumminess can become exhausting. Just always be in too much of a hurry to stop and talk.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ March 26, 2022

That pretty much describes me. But I need to slow down! 🤔

Newzlady March 24, 2022

I hope the gossip stays friendly.

You should put up a photo exhibit (stay anonymous if you like - that would get them going!) or one of those digital photo frames in a common area. Those who are shut in would love it.

Oswego Newzlady ⋅ March 26, 2022

That’s an idea!

All the residents I’ve encountered hav been very friendly and welcoming. It’s a nice place with probably the best location I could find.

music & dogs & wine March 25, 2022

That's funny! My parent's are in their late 70's, they moved to a 55+ community a few years ago. Gossip is RIGHT! My stepmom has gotten involved in the community happenings, they have all sorts of clubs and events. When she tells me about things it sounds like a high school girl telling me what's going on with all the cliques.

I hope you enjoy it there!!

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ March 26, 2022

That is funny, too. I think all those places with people who have a lot of time on their hands are ripe for gossipy chit chat. Makes the days more interesting.

I’m really feeling at home now and enjoying it. 😌

music & dogs & wine Oswego ⋅ March 27, 2022

Great!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.