Crafty (pics) in Temari

  • March 24, 2022, 11:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The one I made for my March handmade and trade partner. I wish the photos did it justice. I honestly love this one.

alt text


And a couple of egg shapes for Easter/spring. Temari typically are only done as balls, so this isn’t a true temari. I guess?

alt text

And a second new pattern for the month:

alt text

You would think I would have at least tried netting before this, but it’s never really appealed to me. I have a book of egg patterns though, so I figure I should try them all at least once. I’ve got another new one that I’m currently working on (and not particularly enjoying, so it’s taking me forever).

I also have a pattern that failed the first time I tried it, so I’m giving it another go, following the directions more closely this time to see if I can correct the mistakes. The first attempt is long gone, so I can’t even see if it was a measurement problem, which is my usual first mistake (a ball that is too big to start won’t stitch up with the same number of lines that the pattern calls for, and in this case, it’s absolutely necessary that it does because the stitching covers the entire ball).


I’ve also been doing some cross stitch. Typically I hate cross stitch, but because these are so tiny I’m getting them finished in a day or two, which makes it an okay craft in my brain.

alt text


Serin March 24, 2022

The texture on your march one makes my eyes happy. I don't know what it is that makes it so cool, I guess just the detail of all the implied layers

auburn_girl Serin ⋅ March 24, 2022

It's wrapped with regular thread and just before the last layer I added a single strand of metallic gold to the wrapping. My partner said she preferred neutrals, and I think this temari fits that bill. 🤩

Chroma March 24, 2022

These creations are really cool! I agree with the previous commenter, the March one make the eyes happy. I'd never heard of Temari before now so it's interesting to see. I'd like to follow to see more when you make them, if that's ok :D

auburn_girl Chroma ⋅ March 24, 2022

Absolutely! There's more in this book if you want to look back at the earlier entries. 😀

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.