The end of an era approaches in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • March 17, 2022, 4:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The construction workers, have started repairs on the house ahead of its sale later this Spring. With the market the way it is, I’m told it could go in under 48 hours, with a bidding war to boot.

It’s been quite a week. Junk haulers carried off mattresses and boxsprings, chairs and a freezer that never worked ($100 fee just for that). The gardeners are beginning a three-stage plan to get the front and side gardens ready. The estate sale crew is setting up and staging in every room of Mom’s house (3,000 sq ft) and every one of them will be filled with antiques, fine and very old porcelains and china, furniture, mirrors, antique boxes, framed botanical and bird prints and 38 of my framed photos from past exhibits. I’m very excited about that because I didn’t know it would be happening.

My sister said that when she looks at the estate sale Web site and sees photos of most of Mom’s beautiful furniture and china, it breaks her heart. She accompanied Mom on many of her forays to antique shops when she was young and in school, and later as an adult, so she knows the stories behind each piece.

The house is empty of all my stuff that was packed in there over many years. All of Mom’s belongings that are not in the estate sale are gone.

I am finally settled in my new apartment. It’s turned out to be quite cozy now that I have furnished it and filled it with many of my hundreds of books and funky gewgaws and treasures. I’ve actually lived there for about a week now. Such a great kitchen and appliances, everything so new and clean, a bit different from what I was used to. The location is absolutely perfect in an area of the city I’m very familiar with, and very near three of my favorite places to eat, and also a block from the shopping center where I shop for groceries. There’a Greenway for daily exercise walking for as long or short a time as I want.

But it’s continuing to be a very difficult time emotionally. My mother has been gone for two years now but the true meaning of grief, with all its manifestations, has set in with a depth and finality I wasn’t prepared for.

At the house last night loneliness closed in on me rather quickly, but nothing too deep. I walked through this much-loved place in a sort of daze, knowing there are fewer and fewer days left to be here and visit. The house sits emptier quieter and more sad with each passing day. It senses the end of this family era — mom’s house, and our family house or homestead, if you will, for 25 years. She loved it so. I do, too. I try not to think about the last day here. I can’t even imagine. The shades are pulled up in my bedroom upstairs. It’s empty now except for a few pieces of furniture, such a total contrast to the cluttered room that was my book m-filled sanctuary for years. Yes, there was way too much in there, but now empty, I just sit in the blue chair in the corner and sadly can’t believe how I’ll soon be gone never to enter this house again.

The entrance to the side garden:

https://flic.kr/p/2n956Rz


A Pedestrian Wandering March 17, 2022

I may have said this before, but I think there is an emotional architecture we ourselves build in a place that is every bit as significant as the actual structure. Grieving the loss of place is probably not as strong as grieving the person but it is still loss. We are cleaning out my mom's apartment today and there is a glass top table she loves that none of her grandchildren want and it grieves me to think of it just being carted away. I hope you have many pictures of the place.

Oswego A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ March 18, 2022

It’s all a prolonged grieving process for me since this house has so many memories associated with it over 2 1/2 decades. It has most certainly acquired a soul of its own. To leave that in a physical sense forever, is a huge psychic loss, but yes, I have many, many photos of the outside and interior that will remind me of the pleasant aspects of my years there.

I hear you about the glass-top table. Our estate sale is this weekend, and I don’t even want to think about how we’ll deal with what doesn’t sell!

Jinn March 17, 2022 (edited March 17, 2022)

Edited

We do get attached to houses. I am not attached to the one I live in now and I am kind of glad I am not . That way if we ever get to move ; I won’t hesitate . However if I stay here I am working on trying to get happier with it than I have been.
Your house looks like it is wonderful !

Oswego Jinn ⋅ March 18, 2022

Thank you! Working to get happier with the place where you presently live is a good and worthy goal.

music & dogs & wine March 17, 2022

♥️ I really feel for you, this was a lot to read and to put myself in your place. I am glad you are happy with your new dwellings.

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ March 18, 2022

Thank you for the kind words. I am glad my new place is like a refuge right now from everything that’s going on. I went to the family home last night, with so much out for the estate sale, I hardly recognized it. Very sad!

MageB March 20, 2022

Youwill miss the house as much as your mom, but slowly it will ease.

Oswego MageB ⋅ March 21, 2022

I am getting settled in my new place at last, and that will certainly help.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.