June 1st. in June Writing Challenge

  • June 2, 2014, 6:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My goal is to write as much as possible this month to get back in the habit of writing and not feeling so apathetic about the act of prose-ing. So! Today we start. And yes, I'm shamelessly copying all my favies because I love them and loved so much that I could read/can read them everyday for a month. Fabulous!

Today's topic is finances.

You guys, I made a mess of my finances. Last year a few projects I worked on had delayed payment until 2014 and so while I waited to be paid, I ended up putting a shitton of stuff on my AmEx because it doesn't have a limit. But then I started putting stuff on there that was beyond my means, even if I had been paid on time. Also, in 2013, I only took home a fraction of what I've been used to making, and on top of that I have an expensive and toddler daycare situation and a huge new mortgage to worry about, so the math doesn't really work out in my favor. Oh shit, that is a huge problem now. I owe a really ridiculous amount of money now and it's just KILLING me. Don't even get me started on how much I owe the IRS.

But so far this year, our business is doing REALLY WELL, and I'm making progress on digging myself out of this huge hole, so I will plan on logging progress so that I can look back at this stupid time and laugh REALLY HARD about how much it sucked.

hahahahahaha.

The real deal is that My Business is doing amazingly well, and there is lots of GOOD THINGS happening in that space (more to come on that), so there is a lot to be proud of/happy about.

But the problem with company growth and expansion is that the partners in our case pay ourselves last, so although we are growing/thriving as a business, our take home salaries are actually taking a hit at the moment. I'll explain in the future why this is a good thing and is actually inspiring personal growth in many ways, and how Joaquin is actually inspiring personal work growth in his own indirect way.

But for now, I'm just happy to be back writing and will be looking foward to challenging myself in this space as well.

HAPPY JUNE !!


TrippyNina June 02, 2014

Money issues are the worst. We should have our heads above water this time next year as John will be done with school but this year...eek!

Jeanine June 02, 2014

Happy June indeed! I think June is a fine month for all of us to be writing all of the time :D

I am currently having financial issues (caused by my very own mis-management!) and I'm looking forward to cleaning this ish up over the next few months. Here's to hoping we can all get a handle on it!

rubix cube Jeanine ⋅ June 02, 2014

Yeah, actually today's topic was inspired by you… I need to get better control of spending beyond my means, and I LOVE the idea of a 'no-spend' month, but I think I'll have to delay that action until July!

LittleBlackDress June 02, 2014

Happy June. I'm glad to see you writing and I may have to try to. Are there prompts for the June Writing Challenge or did you just pick this one?

Finances are the hardest thing. I know you'll figure it out, though. You're a smarty pants like that.

rubix cube LittleBlackDress ⋅ June 02, 2014

I'm so glad to see you writing again as well!! I missed your writing face!!!!

Yeah I know I'll figure it out, but it's just stupid that I got myself in this place AGAIN now that I'm older and wiser and KNOW BETTER. Stupidhead.

rubix cube LittleBlackDress ⋅ June 02, 2014

Oh, and I bascially stole the finances idea from Jeanine :)

Miso Honey June 08, 2014

Glad things are better financially! I think in things like this, writing things down helps to focus.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.