Bible Stories. in Vastly Intricate.

  • March 10, 2022, 6:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I listened to something the other day that made me think. I’ve grown up in church. From the time I was a young child, I remember sitting in Sunday school class and hearing Bible stories. I remember learning about Noah and the ark.. about Daniel in the Lion’s den.. about Jonah and the whale. I never really thought about or realized how much I had in common with some of those people we read about in the Bible.

Eve believed the lies of the enemy. She knew not to take fruit from that particular tree.. yet she gave in and did it anyway. I too have listened to the whispers of the enemy and allowed him to get into my mind and deceive me.

Esau traded his birthright for temporary satisfaction out of a moment of pure desperation. I too have given up the blessings of God for something that may have satisfied me in the moment, but quickly faded.

Jacob pretended to be someone else because he didn’t believe God could bless someone like him. I too have worn a mask more times than I care to admit.. pretended to be someone else because I didn’t feel that I was good enough.

Moses felt so disqualified that he offered excuse after excuse. I too have questioned the call God has placed on my life and offered up one excuse after another as to why I’m not qualified for what He has called me to do.

Elijah was so consumed with fear that he hid in a cave. I too have been so paralyzed by fear that I have hidden myself and tried to fight a battle by myself instead of asking God to walk with me through it.

Martha was anxious and troubled about many things and lost focus of what was important. I too have been so consumed by anxiety that I’ve lost sight of His presence.. the one place I needed to be in so that I could find freedom from those anxious thoughts.

The Prodigal Son took his inheritance and left.. thinking it was more valuable than anything. I too have taken the things God has given me and not been a good steward of them.. and then returned home to Him with nothing left.. only to realize HE was the greatest inheritance.

Thomas doubted and questioned God instead of having faith. I too have laid faith aside while being consumed with doubt.. knowing that He is faithful and has never failed me before - and He won’t start now.

But the beautiful part about it is this…

Jesus became like us. He took our place on the cross.. carried the weight of sin upon Him so that we wouldn’t have to. He came as a man.. He experienced emotions just like we do. He was tempted in every way.. felt heaviness and oppression. He became like us.. so that we could become like Him.

“Every day I’m learning how nothing.. absolutely nothing.. can separate me from Your love. No darkness is too intimidating. No brokenness is too difficult. No wall is too strong. No mountain is too big. No battle is too overwhelming. No sin is too unforgivable. No fear is too powerful. No depression is too hopeless. No problem is too small or too big. Every person I mentioned wasn’t too lost for You to find.. too broken for You to fix.. too dead for You not to resurrect. Their situation didn’t define them. You take dirt and make life.”

Thank You, Jesus, for becoming like me.. so that I could become like You. Thank You for taking this broken mess and calling me beautiful. Thank You for never giving up on me. Thank You for calling me worthy when I felt the complete opposite. Thank You for welcoming me back with open arms even after I ran far from You. Thank You, Jesus. Thank You.


Last updated March 10, 2022


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.