Saturday - 31.05.14 in Your Face

  • May 31, 2014, 7:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just a brief entry before I crash out in bed.

Today I got up around 8am and rode my bike to Westfield and back (26km/16.2 miles). While I was there I bought a top to wear in the evening ($12) and two pairs of knickers ($2 each).

Stopped in at my sister's house on the way back (she lives quite close to Westfield) and had a rest and a drink. Talked some crap. Rode the rest of the way home in excellent time (40 mins) and popped a tyre about 100m from home. Very annoying. I can take the wheel in to the bike shop near my work on Monday to get it fixed, but I had better source a bike shop on my local bus route in case it happens again.

Stopped in to see my neighbour, who gave me three slices of peanut butter/honey/banana bread. He's such a gem.

Took a hot shower, washed hair. Got dressed in jeans, new top and flats. Did makeup, straightened hair. Realised that blue jeans looked stupid with new top, jammed myself into black skinny jeans.

Drove over an hour away to go to the first party, which was quite good. Huge fire pit, lots of snacks, good music. Ate a sausage sandwich for dinner. The hostess tripped and badly twisted her ankle, so we had a bit of drama getting her into a comfortable seat and applying ice, then later strapping it up. I think it is actually worse than she was letting on, but she promptly guzzled some wine and became drunk. I really hope she's okay.

After a few hours I drove the hour back, then a bit further to another party at a popular pub. Dodged some old acquaintances from school, who were probably also dodging me. Failed to find the birthday boy, so sat outside and had a cigarette and texted my Heslop. Wandered back inside and bumped into birthday boy. Chatted with him for a while, he was flattered that so many people had turned up. Went to the bathroom and then snuck out the back door.

(There is a reason for this, aside from being a tired asshole who'd rather go home than keep partying: I saw this dude who used to unabashedly and without refrain hit on me when I worked as a bar tender in 2009. He got the absolute shit beaten out of him by another dude who used to frequent the same club and who also had a mad crush on me and thought he owned me. The guy who did the beating went on to kill his mother a few months after I went to America and is currently in prison. The guy who got beaten, it turns out, is a friend of the birthday boy. That's one can of worms that I do not want to open.)

Drove home sensibly, taking my time and reminding myself that it's not a race, there's no need to drive like an asshole. I am really struggling with that at the moment, and I never really have until recently. Everyone just annoys me, they are in my way, they are inconsiderate and I am furious at them all. Reality: who gives a fuck? I'm always running early for things, so a few seconds delay isn't going to hurt. I've driven for 12 years now without a single traffic infringement, so why start now? Also, I need to sell my car, so maybe I should take more care in NOT crashing it, right?

So, I'm home, and feeling deliciously cold. I love the cold weather, and have been sleeping with my glass door open and fan going, so that when I snuggle down in my blankets I feel cosy. Weirdly enough, I continue to wake up sweating and kicking the blankets off.

And now this "quick" entry has turned out to be quite large. Time for bed, and to rest my aching legs.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.