When Love Becomes an Instinct in QUOTIDIEN

  • May 30, 2014, 2:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I recently watched a news story (found on Facebook) about an elderly gentleman with Alzheimer's Disease who went missing (almost typed: was found missing). Upon the discovery of the absence of the love of her life, his wife contacted 911 to report.

The police found this man, who usually needed assistance walking around the block, 2 miles from his home. He might not have known his address or what year it was - but he knew exactly where he was going. Given that Mother's Day was only 1 day away, he had it in his mind that he MUST pick up flowers for his beloved wife - mother to their children. So intent was he on achieving this goal that the officers took him to the grocer's, picked up a bouquet of roses (paying the difference for their charge), and took him home to his tearful wife of more than 60 years.

The reporter sums up with a phrase that touched me far more than the 'event' ever could, '...when love becomes an instinct'.

When a man, having forgotten all else, is compulsively moved to act in sweetness for no gain other than to satisfy a love which, after all those years, became instinctual.

When a police officer, seemingly without thinking, reaches into his pocket to fill the gap - moved to act in sweetness for no gain other than to satisfy love (of man) in need.

THAT moved me.

Today, I received a gift from someone who attends our church. It was a, 'Who does this kind of thing? Who gives this kind of money to someone...' kind of gift.

Last week, a family sent their two, adult sons to our home to work some pruning magic in my backyard. It was back-breaking, sticky-sweating work - but it was completed in 4 hours and my yard doesn't look the same. They even trimmed the low-hanging branches above my clothesline! It was an awesome gift - an expression of an instinctual love that challenges all comprehension.

Again last week, a woman volunteered her incredible services, refusing to consider taking payment from me. 'In my belief, helping a widow is something we do in honor of God.' An obedience, yes, but borne out of instinctual love for the Divine, and for me.

Since my husband died - evidence of the instinct of love has surrounded us in the form of emotional support, financial support, and physical support in irrefutable ways. In all instances, there was no gain but to push outwards, from their hearts - to reach ours.

God has been SO very good to us, as have our family of friends.

Thank you so much!

ADDITION: Last week began the process of debridement - the picking away at what remains of my husband in this physical world. American Family Insurance, in a misguided (where I am concerned) attempt to soften the blow of finding a bill in both our names, sent me my new bill, addressed to Ms. M.JoAnn Gibson. Help me! I can't catch my breath!!!

There really is no right or wrong way to do this, I suppose. Businesses are likely stuck in a 'damned if you do/don't' position where things like this are concerned. Personally, however, the removal of his name on a bill or legal document burns in my heart just as surely as if it had been branded in fire. My husband left far too early as it stands. To remove this scab too soon feels like the opening of a playground for infection - that nagging ache at the back of your throat before a cold - the phantom pain of an amputated limb. It is a necessary process in order to start my new life under these new terms - but it doesn't mean I have to like it, right?


middle age pearl May 30, 2014

Very touching and you must have been interrupted.

Dancing Queen May 30, 2014

It doesn't have to mean you like it at all.

This reminds me of when my mom died. I had so many acts of love bestowed upon me. It was an incredible blessing. I live that you are receiving so many acts of love.

As far as the news story goes, that is just incredibly beautiful.

Noodlebugs! May 30, 2014

As always, thank you for sharing. You don't have to make these very private feelings 'public', but you do, and I am blessed by it.

motherofthree May 31, 2014

How nice that they came and did that work for you. I understand how you feel about the mail. Its still hard when I get junk mail addressed to my husband and he's been gone two years now. Hope you have a good weekend. =^..^=

ODSago September 02, 2014

It was opposite in feeling for me--seeing his name after he died...reminded me he was gone...and I just crumbled: you are right...they are damned if they do and damned if they don't. However my husband's death wasn't out of the blue as yours was, he'd been ill repeatedly in the past ten years, plus we are in our seventies and that is the time we'd expected one of us to die in the next ten years because our parents all died in their seventies. My heart is filled with pain just to think of the shock you were carrying every day, every hour.

Deleted user November 16, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.