Saturday 02/19/22 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Feb. 19, 2022, 9:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good Morning Saturday!!

It is currently 10 degrees here in Sunny Iowa. With a high expected to reach 27 degrees. It is 8:27 a.m. I slept in this morning until right around 7 a.m. I got up made my first cup of coffee. Made my oatmeal and banana. Browsed a few things on Facebook and here I am. 

I am not sure what is on the agenda for today. I need to do the meal prep I didn’t do the other day. I need to do some laundry and clean up a bit around here. Clean the bathroom. Vacuum the floors. Since it won’t be getting very warm I am in no hurry to run outside. I will save that for tomorrow when it is supposed to reach 55 degrees. Even with the day being chilly I hope to get in at least one walk today. I need to. 

Last night I watched some more of the series “Reacher” on Prime. I watched episodes 4 and 5 and then I stopped. I don’t want to watch it all at once. I will probably watch a few more tonight. I think there is only 8 total. I still have “Sweet Magnolia’s” on Netflix that I can watch. I would like to read for a bit today. If my eyes allow it. At least a few chapters. My eyes don’t seem to be burning and watering as much this morning. But I don’t want to overdo it either. 

The first few months of 2022 are flying by. We are almost through February already. It’s crazy. My days aren’t even that busy and they fly by. When I worked they sure didn’t move this fast.  I need to take an online class or something to add to my days. Right now not being able to be on the computer or read for any length of time bothers me. I know it will get better. I am just not a patient person. 
I am thinking of ways I can cut back on my expenses some more. I usually get my hair trimmed and eyebrows waxed every 6 wks. I think I am going to move that to 8-10 weeks. So far I am past the 8 wks and my brows don’t look that bad. This expense is $45 plus tip each time. I have been going to this hairdresser for over 40 years. I know when I tell her I have to cut back she isn’t going to like it. But I have to do what I have to do. She raised her prices and that wasn’t good for me but I keep going back. That would be my response. Either she wants me for a client or she doesn’t. She was very rude the last time I was there. We will see. I used to have a very short cut and I am now letting it grow out. So it doesn’t need cut every 6 weeks. Her shop is in my small town. So I am sure she isn’t doing that well. 

I belong to several frugal groups on Facebook. I am finding lots of great ideas there. As well as youtube videos. I have never been in a position where things were so dire for me. I don’t want to be. I have always worked at a job where I could have what I wanted. Except when I was raising my son alone. Those times were tight. But we always made it. We had no outside help at all. No food stamps, no child support, nothing. I am at the age where I can survive on little. I feel so bad for families that are struggling. 

I expected my retirement years to be different. Living on just social security is hard. I still have my 401k. But I am not drawing on that until I am FRA ( full retirement age). I don’t want to have to pay any penalties. Most people on SS are barely living at the poverty level still with the current increase. Because of the inflation. When I turn 65 I will have to be responsible for my insurance. That scares the hell out of me. Like they say getting old isn’t for sissies. 

I have run out of things to complain about. lol. So I am going to stop here. 

Later
Sheri


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.