Here in my car... in Melbourne Diaries

  • May 30, 2014, 11:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This morning it was announced in Canberra that I and everyone else in the agency I work for was named 'in excess' (public service lingo for sacked). This isn't as bad as it sounds, as it is a legal way of making sure everyone undertakes the expected selection processes in the next two weeks. But as usual there was a total lack of communication, esp. to me, who may as well live in Tibet for all the feedback I get from work. Luckily, I do have interviews and assessment processes for better jobs in train, and am crossing my fingers for a job offer some time soon so as to avoid this rubbish. Meanwhile there are several employment crises at work, most notably our inability to sack a Gen Y stereotype who failed to come to work yesterday with the most pitiful excuse I'd ever heard: "My partner was at an overnight charity event and was tired, so I decided to stay in with him out of support". If the guy had tried that one on me he'd have been defenestrated (remembering I work on floor 46). Fed up by 4PM, I productively spent the remaining hours at work looking at old Jean Clause Van Damme clips with the karate-kicking secretary I probably have an age appropriate crush on (and who disappointingly has a boyfriend).

To cheer myself up, I thought I'd see live music tonight in Melbourne, aware of my few remaining days here, and have got a ticket for Gary Numan of all people. Now surely everyone remembers 'Cars' from the 80s don't they?


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.