Battened down in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Feb. 17, 2022, 1:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

With Auntie Eunice on her way, promising gusts of over 100 mph overnight, I have tied the fucking trampoline down. Seriously. It was about a year ago that it flew over our five foot fence and down the street to land gently (thankfully) on someone’s car. I announced then that I was going to get rid of the bent, twisted carcass and the darling offspring protested passionately with clear debate such as, “But I will use it. I prooooommmmiiiissse!!!”

So I spent quite a lot of both time and money sourcing replacement parts and recreating the trampoline.

Spoiler alert: the offspring did not use it.

In the Summer I announced that I was going to sell it.

But the offspring verbally protested. Promising they reeeeaaallllyyyyy would use it.

I didn’t sell it.

Spoiler alert: they didn’t fucking use it!

So now we’re about to face the worst storm since the met office began (not sure exactly what time scale we’re on here) and I still have that redundant piece of flying litter in my garden.

So it has been attached to the wall with a bungee cord at one side and in the ground two tent guy ropes at the other. Quite frankly, I don’t think they’ll make any difference at all!!


thesunnyabyss February 17, 2022

Good luck, stay safe! 💜

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ February 17, 2022

Thanks x

Sup3rjaw February 17, 2022

Someone suggested I tie the trampoline down earlier and I dismissed the idea because it doesn't have a net and it's kinda stuck into the mud anyway, but since they're recommending we get torches, candles and flasks handy, I think I might do something after all!

ermentrude Sup3rjaw ⋅ February 17, 2022

I think the trampoline mat itself is what gets caught by the wind mostly as the net allows the wind to pass through. I’m crossing my fingers for your trampoline!!

Sup3rjaw ermentrude ⋅ February 18, 2022

I turned it upside down. 🙂

ermentrude Sup3rjaw ⋅ February 18, 2022

Ah yes, that makes sense!

Jinn February 18, 2022

That’s scary. Hope it stays put and you all are safe .

I need tea. February 18, 2022

Xx

The Tranquil Loon February 21, 2022

Oh yes the darling trampoline I remember that 1 that one that went playing to the neighbors LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.