may 29 in twenty-seven

  • May 29, 2014, 9:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

And I hit my first bump in the house buying road. So I was initially going to get an FHA loan since I wanted to put less down (3.5% versus at least 5% for a conventional loan). So that required an appraisal with the HUD case number. Which was described to me as a social security number for homes. Well, when the bank when to request the case number from HUD, they were denied because there was some major problem with the property and it was not suitable for dwelling. Which is absurd since it's completely fine. So my lender was trying to get it resolved and neither my realtor nor the seller's realtor understood what was happening and both assumed it was my bank's fault (which it wasn't). Anyway, the lender and I eventually decided to just switch to a conventional loan since it will cost me less in the long run. But it was a headache.

The sellers also want to close on July 3rd but not give me occupancy until July 7th. All the same to me...I was planning on closing on July 7th anyway so whatevs. I'm still moving in on the same day I was planning.

I hope that's the only hiccup we experience in this process.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.