The Future / Inception? in Dreams

  • Feb. 13, 2022, 9:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was back home, although it didn’t look like home, and I was working (when am I not) at various houses I remember, but don’t know why. It was my business, and on this day, I was doing a lot of manager stuff plus a little service work. Nothing was really obviously the point, but I was about the same level of fake smiles I currently am, but I was happy to be home. As I was going about my various (abridged) jobs, and driving between them, I was thinking a lot about where I’d been, my life here in Seattle, how miserable my neighborhood was to live in, a few smile-worthy thoughts of coworkers and neighbors, and the few friends I have here. It seemed like a day just like any other. It was warm, it was sunny, and I was planning to go to the lake that weekend.
Then I woke up.
It was 2001, maybe 2002, late spring I think, I was in bed with my second favorite ex, JP, and I accidentally woke her up as I reached for my little Nokia phone to check the time, as it was daylight out, but seemed like it hadn’t been for long. “You okay?” she asked. “Yeah, just woke up from a strange dream”, which I summarized for her, then said “I think it was the future.” “Was it good?” she asked. “I’m not sure.” “Try and get a little more sleep. It’s too early.” I leaned over her and kissed her cheek, then laid back down behind her and wrapped my arm around her. “Do you believe me that I saw the future?” I asked, hesitantly. She didn’t say anything, grabbed my wrist and pulled me in tighter behind her, then she wrapped my arm back around her, with my hand just under her ribs.
Then I actually woke up, here, very disappointed.

I actually was quite down on Tuesday, and thought about what if this was all a dream and I woke up back then with her.
I’d be happier. I know that much.

I’m still in a cast. Maybe not after this week.


Jinn February 15, 2022

Maybe you were time traveling …

He Who Must Not Be Named Jinn ⋅ February 16, 2022

That would be nice. Go back and correct some stupid mistakes, despite how it would change my current timeline.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.