splurge! in book reviews

  • May 29, 2014, 4:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had in mind to go to the local (to my job) thrift shop - everything is 25% off today. But then I went to the bank and the Chinese restaurant... and saw tables... on the sidewalk... they were selling something! My downfall is discount shopping!

BOOKS! I bought six books for $8:

Beowulf - I've read three versions, and probably this was the version I liked the most. I always regretted giving it away. This book is illustrated with Norse artifacts and art, so it's a keeper.

The Yearling - would you believe I'd NEVER read it???

Heloise and Abelard - again, never read it

The Shelf; adventures in extreme reading...through a random shelf of library books, novels from LEQ-LES... this book called to me for sure

Alexander Dumas's Georges... again never read it.

Another book, I left it at work for tomorrow... something about an Urban, Modern Stetl (Jewish community withing a city).

Broad ranging for sure!


Ragdolls May 29, 2014

ermentrude May 29, 2014

Great purchase! X

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm May 30, 2014

books, one can NEVER have too many!! you just need to get more bookcases. if i had my way i'd have ceiling to floor wall to wall book cases. i guess i'd have my own library if i could. i've got to call the library and see when the next book sale is gonna be. for $5 you can get a whole bag full of books. i love the library book sales. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ May 30, 2014

Since I read about 5 books a week, I actually was able to see a difference in the stacks... HA... all filled in! I have at least one bookcase in each room... some rooms have three or more. Even in a 6 room apartment, I don't have enough space for all the books. AND I give so MANY away!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.