Sunset photo sequence captures infinite sky colors and mood in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Feb. 11, 2022, 3:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I often photographs sunsets in my surroundings because I am blessed to have easy access to three parks that offer abundant views across open water and sky and provide perfect vantage points to photograph these spectacular gifts of Nature.

Every few months, however, I see one of those extra special sunsets that astonishes a very humble observer with its bold array of orange, yellow, pink, red and purple colors, suspended in the clouds over the wide mouth of the Ashley River, or for miles in the 180-degree vistas at Waterfront Park overlooking Charleston Harbor.

I quicken my steps to take pictures because all these spectacular sunsets are so fleeting and linger just long enough to completely dazzle the viewer.

Such was the case two days ago at Brittlebank Park on the Ashley River. From beginning to end, this sunset had everything. Total time for this sequence: 10-15 minutes.

I captured its beauty from many vantage points, and the river being at low tide only accentuated the majesty of this sunset.

I come away from looking at and photographing these sunsets with awe and reverence, hushed into silence as the night descends.

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/5P94Ej


Jinn February 12, 2022

These pictures are amazingly beautiful !

Oswego Jinn ⋅ February 12, 2022

Thank you!☺️

ConnieK February 12, 2022

My favorite was the 4th from last. Reminded me of the New England clam flats.

Newzlady February 12, 2022

It is amazing how quickly the sky changes, as I've often discovered while trying to drive to a good vantage point! Beautiful views.

Newzlady February 12, 2022

Did you notice sunsets were also your topic last year on that day?

Oswego Newzlady ⋅ February 12, 2022

Wow! That’s amazing. I never noticed. Thanks for pointing that out.

music & dogs & wine February 13, 2022

All of these are so gorgeous and worthy of being blown up, framed, and hung on a wall!

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ February 13, 2022

Thank you so much! It’s an ideal setting for sunsets! 😌

Deleted user February 13, 2022

Gorgeous! So many fiery hues.

WhatDreamsMayCome February 14, 2022

The colors are remarkable in all of them but that second to last one is mesmerizing.

Oswego WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ February 14, 2022

Thanks! You’re right, that second to last is probably my favorite.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.