Thursday 02/10/22 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Feb. 10, 2022, 8:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good Morning Thursday!!!

I have been up for a few hours. I tried to go back to sleep but couldn’t. So I got up and made a cup of coffee and started reading more of my book. I am reading “Wish You Were Here” by Jodi Picoult. This book was recommended by someone in my Facebook group. I haven’t read a book by Jodi Picoult in years. This one is set during the pandemic. I won’t say anymore. I will finish this book today and start another one. I have 12 books checked out from the library I need to read.

📖📕📚

Yesterday I went and stocked up on groceries again. I needed oatmeal and bananas. Things for lunches, and more water. When I was all done I spent $50. The price of groceries is unreal. I don’t know what I will do when we lose the full amount for the emergency allotment next month. I am going to have to budget everything down to the last penny. I hate to even think about it.

It was a beautiful morning when I left to go to the grocery store yesterday. It was in the ’30s. By the time I was done the wind had come up and the temp had dropped 10 degrees. I am glad I went when I did. It was pretty chilly carrying in the groceries. Needless to say, I didn’t do my walking as planned. Today is supposed to be much the same. Tomorrow we start off in the ’30s and then by late afternoon the temps are supposed to drop again. I don’t have any plans for the next few days. I will probably run to the library and return books but I don’t have any place I need to be.

I noticed when I got back to town yesterday our gas prices have gone up again. $3.29 was what they are now. Last week they were $3.17. This is crazy. By summer they will probably be $4.00. I will really have to watch how many trips I make into the city to get groceries and things. It is 20+ miles one way for me to drive to Walmart. There are groceries stores closer I will have to try to get my stuff there. And I think I am going to start ordering Mira’s food on Amazon. That is one reason I drive to Walmart. The grocery stores either don’t have it or it’s marked up almost twice the price. I think I am going to start making an order to Amazon on the first of the month with things I am going to need that I usually drive out to Walmart for. Cat food, Cat litter, water, cat liners, and anything else I normally pick up at Walmart. And it might also be a good idea if I limit grocery store trips to bi-weekly if I can. Except of course for Milk, bread, and bananas. Which I can get at my local grocery store. I wish we had a bigger better grocery store here. We need a name-brand grocery here.

With the price of everything going up so much I probably won’t be taking any vacation this summer. Not even sure if I can afford a weekend away at this rate. It makes me sad. When I was working I used to take trips every summer to Florida with my best friend. It has been almost 5 yrs since our last trip. Her health is bad and we are both broke as a joke. She lives in Wisconsin and I live in Iowa.

I need to call my brother. I haven’t talked to him in a few days. I was trying to give him some space. The last few times we talked he was in so much pain he couldn’t be on the phone longer than 20 minutes. He is having a lot of sciatica pain down his left leg. He did call his dr. who explained it away saying he had to do a lot of work on his back and stirred up the nerves. It should gradually get better. He gave my brother more pain meds. I didn’t like hearing that. My brother does not want to take pain meds. But I know his pain is bad. I guess I am kind of afraid to call. I want to hear he is feeling better. I will stop procrastinating and call him in a few hours.

I think I have said all I have to say for now. I need to shower and do some laundry and a few other household chores. I will probably be inside most of the day. I want to finish this book. I will need to take the garbage to the curb at the end of the day. I have such a boring life. I am outta here.

Sheri

Think Spring!!!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.