Our camellias survived the freeze in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Feb. 10, 2022, 4:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was afraid our recent freeze would zap the gorgeous camellias that have bloomed in such abundance in all our city parks and gardens, but not so. A few days ago I went back to Hampton Park and discovered these beauties. I took one picture after another, and they all had raindrops on him.

What a spectacular feast for the eyes. I always get a bit sad when winter nears its end because the camellia blooms will also end. What a joy to be able to wander the paths of the park, stopping often to admire those beautiful flowers.

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/2203Y2


Jinn February 10, 2022

I love them!!

Oswego Jinn ⋅ February 10, 2022

😌☺️

ConnieK February 10, 2022

Filling your life with beauty is good for your soul. :)

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ February 10, 2022

Absolutely! 😊

Deleted user February 10, 2022 (edited February 10, 2022)

Edited

Camellias! My favorite. We had a gorgious red camellia in our communal backyard. Beautiful red flowers. Unfortunately, two years ago we suddenly had a very severe freeze for a whole week and the camellia did not survive. I have been very sad for this for a long time. πŸ˜”
Your pictures are beautiful!

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ February 10, 2022

Thank you, my friend. They have brightened up my whole winter! 😌

ODSago February 10, 2022

I'm always happy for Camellias to endure the bad weather of mid to late winter in the South. I miss mine in my past yard and am going to plant some here soon. We got a bit zapped with a degree or so above freezing winter weather for two days. So far, my winter was for two days!!! Otherwise we have had sweater weather. I'm popping in here on my scrolling wonder again. So far not problem tonight. Are you well? Drop me a few lines if you like. Now I'll see your pictures. My best!

Oswego ODSago ⋅ February 11, 2022

They certainly brighten life in winter. 😌

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.