Sunday 02/06/22 in Lady Loves the Ocean

Revised: 02/07/2022 8:06 a.m.

  • Feb. 6, 2022, midnight
  • |
  • Public

Good Morning Sunday!!!

The sun is peeking out again. I love it. It is chilly this morning. Currently 24 degrees. I bet we reach close to 40 degrees today. I will be doing my walking. Hopefully a few times. Hopefully, there isn’t much wind. Still no snow in the forecast this week. Yay!!!

Yesterday I tried to read but my eyes were still bothering me a bit. It was even hard to watch tv. My eyes were itchy and burning and watering. Today seems to be better so far. I really want to get into the current book I am reading and get it finished so I can move on.

I am trying to drink more water. I feel like I am retaining fluid. I go back to the dr. on 02/15. I hope she will be happy with my blood sugar counts. I have been working hard to stay focused and on track. Never missing meds. or meals. Checking my counts 3x a day. My highest count since my last visit was 147. I have a couple of lows she won’t be happy with. But it’s hard sometimes to eat right on time. I am getting better. I think I have gained around 5 lbs since my last visit as well. She was not concerned about me gaining weight. She said I could stand to gain 5-10 lbs. But I don’t want to. I do feel so much better getting back on my meds and following a diet with no sugar, no soda, no junk food.

I am going to need to go to the grocery store in the next few days. I am out of oatmeal. This morning I had two eggs and toast. I really enjoy oatmeal and a banana or dried fruit, nuts, raisins, and cranberries. I am going to look for alternative things to drink. Zero-calorie Vitamin water is hard to find and is now pretty expensive. It used to be $1.09 a bottle. Now it is $1.69. I know Propel makes vitamin water that is flavored and zero-calorie. I will look for that. I do not want to fall back into drinking soda. I may try Lipton sugar-free Green or Peach tea in the bottles. A 12 pack isn’t too expensive. I just need to find a better option that is cheaper and has no calories. The price of certain groceries is really skyrocketing. Coffee is getting crazy expensive. Meat has been going up for months. I watch for meat on sale. Or I don’t buy any. And I have started buying bigger packs and breaking them down. I only eat 1 piece. I did that with pork chops. I found some good thick boneless chops 4 in a pack for $3.02. So I can just grab 1 out of the freezer when I want it. I got 6 chicken legs for under $4 last week. I cooked them all in the crockpot and had 3 meals from it. I add lots of veggies to eat with the meat. I can’t imagine how families are doing it. Milk here is almost $4 a gallon.

My crazy cat is running wild this morning. She has one of her balls and is carrying it around, flipping it up in the air and making all kinds of sounds. She is a Bengal cat. And she does some crazy things. She is normally not a cuddlier. But this morning I was sitting in bed looking at my phone before I got up. And she climbed in my lap and started kneading my leg and purring. She rarely purrs. So it was surprising. She loves to look out the front window. And is very alert to noise. When the neighbors come outside with their dogs she always runs and watches them. I will try to find a picture I can put here. She is beautifully marked. I got her at a shelter. She had just come in. I was lucky to get her. She is my love.

Ok, I think I am going to stop here and try to get comfy and read. But first I must start some laundry. It’s going to be a beautiful day. Enjoy!

Sheri

PS: I am on Open Diary as well under the same name. I have photos in my diaries there. I am unsure of how to add them here. Hence no picture of Mira my cat.


Last updated February 07, 2022


Beret February 07, 2022

I remember reading you on OD. Way back when. Nice to find you here!

ladylovestheocean Beret ⋅ February 08, 2022

Thank you! =)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.