It's October... time for an update! in Fear & Loathing in Steel City

  • Oct. 1, 2013, 6:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


It's been a while since I wrote here, but to be honest... I've been very, very busy. Two weeks ago I started a new volunteer position that I'm very excited about. the support group that I used to attend for people who are coping with separation and divorce was in need of a facilitator. They usually prefer to have at least one male facilitator for each class and they were short so the asked me to help out. I enjoyed attended these level classes so I was more than happy to give back. I started two weeks ago and have been enjoying helping others cope during what are very difficult times.

I've also been doing a lot of writing. Combine that with my super busy visitation schedule with the kids and I've had little or no time to do anything else. I'll try to come back here a little more often as long as there are not as many bugs as there has been the last few weeks but I make no promises.

On Saturday, I went to a football game in Guelph. Our local team has been playing all games there while their new stadium is built. I haven't been able to paint for charity at these games because it was out of my way, but we were offered free tickets and gas money if we made the effort to paint this week so we went out there and did our thing. It was a lot of fun and the team gave us seats in the second row from the field! Talk about showing a little appreciation. If things go well, as a senior painter I should be getting season tickets for next season when the new stadium opens. I don't get paid for the work I do but this will be fun if I can get my own seat for every game.

On Sunday I took Ethan to see 'Cloudy With A Chance Of Meatballs 2'. It wasn't my weekend but I promised to do it and I'm a man of my word. While the movie wasn't as good as the first, it was still a lot of fun and Ethan and I both had a great time. Taking him to see this movie was my way of thanking him for being such a good boy at classical concert the week before. It was a two hours how with a Philharmonic orchestra and the little guy stuck it out. Ethan got a little antsy near the end but that was expected. I was so proud of the little guy that I thought it was only fair to do something he wanted to the next weekend.

I don't have the boys for Xmas this year... I'll be taking them for New Years. Leah and I alternate every year which is just fine by me. So I'm not sure what I'm going to do for the holidays, but a part of me is thinking of checking out a few Xmas day movie releases. That should be a lot of fun... especially if a few Oscar contenders come out around then.

I can't believe it's October already... this year is just flying by. I'm going to turn 38 in twenty seven days and that's pretty scary as well. Two years away from the big four zero. That's a scary thought. So with the extra writing I'm doing, things are going well over here. I'm going to get back to that writing now but I might be back later to check on my bookmarks and leave some notes. Until then everyone have a great Tuesday!

Peter


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.