Variations on a theme (temari pics) in Temari

  • Feb. 2, 2022, 7:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t tackled a new pattern lately, but rather worked on other patterns in different colourways.

First, though, a temari I made for someone on here. She requested a specific pattern in shades of teal. I was able to find teal metallic thread for the guidelines and teal beads for the ends as well. I was quite pleased with how it turned out!

I ended up modifying the pattern a bit, because the first time I made it I didn’t like how the lines weren’t symmetrical, and in temari symmetry is typically paramount (with few exceptions).

alt text

alt text


I turned a mini temari that had been laying around for months into a book mark. I’ve since purchased metal feathers that I can attach temari to for the same purpose.

alt text


The one I made for my handmade and trade partner for January I decided to do in a more pastel, spring theme.

alt text

alt text

alt text


Back in the fall I had done a pattern that I affectionately called the ‘avocado ball’, but even back then I knew I wanted to try it in a rainbow pattern. I really like it, but I think that it needs a different mari colour.

alt text

alt text


Currently I have a red and white ball for Valentines Day that I’m stitching. I might get that finished tonight. It’s a frustrating pattern in that I’ve put way too many guidelines for a ball of this size, so there’s not a lot of room to stitch. However I’ve got one side finished and the second side 2/5ths of the way there, so it’s more about pushing through to the end.

Also my handmade and trade partner for January’s parcel has gone into limbo at Canada Post. I opened a ticket to see if they can locate it and get it to her, but I’m not super optimistic. It bothers me because I love how that one turned out, and I invested a lot of time into it. I told her if it doesn’t show up by the end of the week I’ll make and send her another one.

I’ll also have one for my trade partner for February to do, a new baby one that popped into my head last night (for a client that I really like), a thank you one for the RMT who let me borrow her pregnancy cushioning system for the last 4 months (for the above client), and a friend who has a birthday towards the end of the month.

All eminently do-able! Not sure how many I’ll get made for craft sale stockpile, but hopefully at least a couple more, and maybe I can finish a couple of the quilted ornaments as well.


Mr. Mofo February 02, 2022

Those are very pretty.

auburn_girl Mr. Mofo ⋅ February 02, 2022

Thank you very much! I'm quite passionate about the craft.

Calicakes February 05, 2022

I love them all. I do agree though, the rainbow temari would pop on maybe a black or white background.

Serin February 07, 2022

The pastel is prettyier than I'd have expected from "pastel" :) It's very spring-y. I think my personal tastes lean to the bolder colours though. And then I'm going to admit the teal one is lovely, so maybe I'm bad at picking colour patterns for myself. :)

The little one is amazing though, I didn't realize you could shrink them that much. How much work is that, compared to the "full scale" ones?

auburn_girl Serin ⋅ February 07, 2022

Other than wrapping is a bit of a pain, the stitching is otherwise very similar and they don't take much time at all to make.

I don't tend to be drawn to the softer colours until I finish the temari and see it complete. So you're allowed to like lighter and darker ones. lol

Jigger February 07, 2022

I never ever get tired of these.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.