Friday 01/28/22 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Jan. 28, 2022, 2:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good Morning Friday!

Sunshine but cold this morning. It is currently 5 degrees. The high today is going to be 15 degrees. No snow in the forecast. Tomorrow it is supposed to warm to 31 degrees. We have a few days of warmth until Wednesday when we get a chance of snow. So it should be a decent weekend as far as temps go. I will have to get out and do my walking. 

I talked to my brother’s wife Vilma last night. The dr. had just called her to tell her he was in recovery and that the surgery went well. That was such a relief. She gave me his Room # and the phone # to call to talk to him. I tried once and the phone was busy. So I just text him that I love him. And I would talk to him tomorrow. He text me back around midnight. Said he loved me back and ok. There was another message in the middle of the night he woke up in pain. And they had given him something more. I will try to call him in a little while. There is an hour time difference. He is behind an hour. When I talked to his wife I learned more about my brother’s medical background. I am glad I know this info now but had I known before the surgery I would have been even more nervous. He has had 2 heart attacks in 10 yrs. He has had 4 stents put in. He told me there were problems and he was on medication for high blood pressure but never mentioned anything else. I was a little shocked. My brother has led a colorful life. He has always been in good shape. But he has had his battles with alcohol and drugs. He has been clean and sober now for over 10 yrs. Thank God. Now I know why he stopped. And leads a very clean life now. 

The sun sure is brightly shining in my kitchen window. I will have to go out and move the garbage bin back to my house. If it’s not windy then I will go into the circle and walk for at least 30 mins. if it’s not too cold. I need to be getting regular exercise. 

I went out and got groceries and things yesterday. I went with a friend. We went to Walmart, and Fareway grocery store. And then we went to lunch at a diner-type restaurant. I had chicken strips. I could only eat two of the four. I brought the others home and ate them for dinner with a salad. So I got two meals out of that. Eating out is expensive. It cost me $12 for that lunch. And I drank water. 

I watch several channels on Youtube that keep me updated on benefits for the elderly. I see that they are going to continue the Emergency Allotment for the EBT (Snap) Food stamps until April. Thank god. I will be spending what I receive very carefully. Since my diet has changed because of my diabetes I am cooking a lot more. I found a few deals on some meat yesterday. I got some chicken legs and some ground turkey. When I get my stamps for Feb. on Feb. 2nd I am going to get some big bundles of meat and separate them out into small packs. I have a lot of canned food already. I would like to get myself in a situation where I only have to buy milk, bread, and maybe eggs on a weekly or bi-weekly basis. I like it when Walmart has their frozen veggies on sale for $1 a bag. I need to grab a few more of those.

I would love to be able to save more money. I have things coming up in May, June, and July that I need to put money away for.  House insurance, car tags, and taxes on my home. And with my gas/electric bill, rent, gas, increasing I need to be prepared. I save all of my change. I took my two coffee cans with dimes, quarters, and nickels to the bank and I had $256. That could easily pay one of those bills coming up. I used it for Christmas gifts. I will keep saving what I can. 

Wow, this has turned into a long entry. I am going to stop here and shower and get some stuff done around the house. It is going to be a good day!

Sheri


The Author January 28, 2022

I'm so glad your brother's surgery went well and he's doing good. They are taking away pretty much every government benefit, and the things that are supposed to help us - like Medicare... they are screwing us on.

ladylovestheocean The Author ⋅ January 28, 2022

Thank you for the good thoughts and prayer for my brother.

I know the government sucks. I am struggling. But I can do better myself. I need to make sure I am saving something each week. Whether it be change or money I pull from my checking account. I need to be better prepared. I am pretty spoiled I think. There are things I can cut back on and will.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.