Tuesday 01/25/22 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Jan. 25, 2022, 8:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good Morning Tuesday!

It is so cold this morning. I can feel it in my bones. The house is chilly. I have a space heater running in the living room. The actual temp is -4. That is too damn cold. I don’t have to go out today. But I should probably go out and start my car. I could make a run to the library later. But it is not supposed to warm up much. Same tomorrow. Spring can’t come soon enough. 

I finally finished reading the book “The Paris Detective” by James Patterson. It was 3 stories in one book. Large print over 600 pages. I started another James Patterson book “The Horsewoman”. I am only a few chapters in. I have one of my books on my reserve list ready to pick up. So I might take one back today and pick one up. Or wait until tomorrow. See how I feel about going out in the cold later. 

I have an appointment for a haircut tomorrow. So I could just wait and go out then. My SS check will be in my account tomorrow so I could run and pick up some groceries after the haircut. Again it will depend on how cold it is and how I feel. When it is bitterly cold my body aches being out in it. I can always wait until Thursday or Friday when it is supposed to be a little warmer. When it gets around freezing it feels like a heat surge. It sucks getting old. 

I remember before retirement when I had to drive to work each day. Getting up and praying the car would start on a cold winter morning. Letting it warm up. Driving 15 miles to work. Running into the building because it was so damn cold. Then worried if the car would start again after my shift. And sitting in it while it warmed up. When we would get snow I would hate driving in it. I would be white-knuckled all the way to work. Thank god I didn’t have a really long commute. My son and daughter-in-law have a 40-minute drive to work each day.  I worry about them when we get snow. You can be the best driver and there is always someone in a hurry no matter what the weather is like. 

I got on the scale this morning after waking up. I have gained 5 lbs. UGH! I knew I would start gaining. I am eating more because of the diabetes meds. And more food is staying in since I have eliminated sugar. And my Crohn’s is in check. I am not going to panic. I am eating much better food. I need to exercise and stay on track. It will be okay. I can’t and won’t obsess about it. The dr. said it would not hurt to gain some weight. 

I am going to look on Youtube for some exercise things I can do. I can load Youtube on my Firetv and do them in my living room. I know there are a lot of things on there for women over 50. Just what I need. Since I can’t get out and walk in this weather. 

The furnace seems to be running a lot. I already had a raise in my electric/gas bill. $30 more per month on the budget. My lot rent just went up $25 more this month. The increase I got on my SS is going towards all of these other increases. No one cares about the seniors living on a fixed income. I won’t go into all that again. 

I text my son to see how they are doing since they all got covid. He said it wasn’t that bad. They had to miss 7 days of work. Which he was not happy about. He doesn’t like to miss work even when he is sick and rarely does. But they had no choice. They all tested positive. My granddaughter is so anxious to get back to school ( Pre-school). She is bouncing off the walls. I haven’t seen them since Christmas and I miss them. Facetime is not the same. 

Ok, time to get moving. I have chores to do before I can sit down and read. 

Sheri


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.