may 27 in twenty-seven

  • May 27, 2014, 7:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I still find myself absent-mindedly typing "opendiary.com" into my browser, and just before I hit enter, I remember that it will get me nowhere. And it's still pretty saddening.

It's the first day back at work after a four-day weekend, and that's a hard thing. I think coming back from a long weekend is more difficult than a typical Monday after a two-day weekend because I get used to the not being at work feeling. Although, I only really got to sleep in two days this weekend, since I had to be up at 6:30 on Friday and Sunday both. So it probably was just a typical weekend anyway.

Next up on my time off calendar is Key West from June 18th to the 22nd. Three weeks away! Roomie and I are leaving Wednesday evening, after his class (which ends at eight PM) and driving straight through. It should take between 20 and 22 hours assuming nothing terrible comes up traffic-wise, putting us there by eight PM if we only stop a few times to eat. My plan is to sleep all day on Wednesday and take over the driving once roomie is too exhausted to do any more of it. I think if we split it down the middle it shouldn't be too bad. R's wedding is Friday afternoon, giving us plenty of time to crash before we have to be up again. Party hard Friday (which for me means a glass of champagne and maybe a couple glasses of wine), then we are hitting the road again early Saturday morning so we can be back in town Sunday night. We'll probably stop at a hotel to sleep Saturday night. I'm taking the following Monday off work because...I'm going to feel like hell after all that driving.

But I'm actually really excited for it. I haven't taken a long roadtrip in over eight years; the last one was driving back from Arizona in late 2005. I love them...actually I don't really love them that much while they're happening but I always look back on them very fondly and it provides a lot of quality time with a person. Also, I really hate flying. I'll drive across the country if I have the time rather than fly there, even though logically it's ridiculous. I know cars are more unsafe than planes, etc. But it sure makes me feel less panicky.

I close on my house in 41 days! And now it's just about playing the waiting game, since the inspection went well and there's really no reason or opportunity for either of us to back out now.

Sure feels like there is a lot of (good) change happening in my life right now.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.