may 26 in twenty-seven

  • May 26, 2014, midnight
  • |
  • Public

I had an entire entry written out, but it was kind of vent-y about my family and probably not worth rewriting.

Basically, my family is awkward and forced and roomie got to see that first hand today.

Also, the sellers agreed to give me $2,000 against closing costs to address the miscellaneous little issues that came up from the home inspection. I feel kind of bad now, since my realtor recommended we ask for a little higher than we wanted so we would settle toward the middle. But they just accepted the initial offer.

Basically, I have no intention of ever "fixing" most of the things that came up. There is some fascia missing in the back of the house and the clean out cap in the drain pipes is cracked (but my realtor thinks it has been that way for probably 40 years or so and likely won't be an immediate problem...and when it does become a problem, I'll know for sure because of the smell). The detached garage has settled a bit, but I don't think it's a hazard. I'm just happy to have a two-car garage at all. Some of the outlets aren't grounded and while most of the electric has been updated, there is a small amount of knob and tube wiring (but not much at all). Most of the windows are original with the home and don't open fully or don't stay open. I think that gives the house some nice charm and I'm not worried about it. I'm more of an A/C girl myself.

And that's pretty much it.

Oh, and happy Memorial Day to all...


Last updated May 27, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.