Covid Recovery & Work in Life As I Know It - 2022

  • Jan. 15, 2022, 1:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Pat and I both are recovering fine. Today is the best either of us has felt in a week. Both of us are still tired but it’s not that soul sucking draining fatigue. Depending on the weather I’m supposed to get re-tested on Monday. We’re supposed to get a pretty nasty winter storm though so I may have to wait until Tuesday.

Trust me, I’m in no hurry to return to work!!

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned how bad things have been at work the past 2 months. Have I mentioned I’ve only been there 3 months?????

Ugh it feels like I’ve been there a lot longer. It’s been physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually soul sucking. I hate it.

The only GOOD thing is the residents. I call them “my” residents. I’ve grown extremely fond of them.

Now the shitty stuff:

Ameer and his mom LaToya. The kid is 18 and works there on the weekends. And has been filling in a night or two a week until Lori comes back. More on Lori later though. So this kid has “special needs”. I was never told what those “needs” are until recently because frankly it’s really none of my business. All I knew is that he was a little “slow”.

That doesn’t even come close to describing this kid. At all. He only does about 1/4 of the work that needs to get done, sits on his ass in the middle of the dining room looking at his phone and eating candy for long periods of time, and even what little bit of work he does manage to do is done half assed. How hard is it to wash dishes and put them away in the correct places? How hard is it to sweep and mop and take the trash out and break down the cardboard? Not very!

But this kid can’t even handle those few tasks correctly let alone everything else that needs done. Everyone, including the residents, complain about this kid. This is a 5 star rated living facility and this kid gives 1/2 star service at best.

So his mom, who is a med tech there, goes behind him doing what he doesn’t do. Meaning she’s doing her job and 1/4 of his. So between his 1/4 effort and her 1/4 effort still only 1/2 the work is getting done!!!

Anita, the facility director refuses to fire him. LaToya is “sue” happy and has made threats to go above Anita’s head if she lets her baby boy go. So Anita has tied Dante’s hands. He’s the kitchen manager, so our direct supervisor. He’s pissed because Karen and I are constantly going to him about the work not being done.

Ameer has been trained, retrained, and retrained again, with accommodations for his “special needs” made (aka allowing his mommy to do his work for him while he sits on his ass collecting a paycheck).

This all means that by Monday morning when I go in, the place is an absolute fucking disaster zone of unemptied trash, dishes left from Saturday morning in the soak sink, and nothing restocked. Plus no iced tea made. So before I even start I have to do everything he and his mommy didn’t do which puts me behind schedule.

I’ve been pretty vocal about my disgust with both of them. So LaToya confronted me one day about it. She told me how Ameer is bipolar (so am I), has borderline personality disorder (so do I), depression and anxiety (so do I), and he’s schizophrenic. So he’s on a plethora of drugs that affect his memory.

HE CANT DO THE JOB!!!!!!!!

I’m sorry he’s got so much going on but so do I. So does everyone. The work still needs to get done.

So Lori is another woman that works there during the week at night. She’s a little slow mentally but she’s able to do everything required. EVERYTHING! Unfortunately she fell at work on a wet floor and broke her arm. So me and Karen, and occasionally Ameer/mommy have been filling in for her for 2 months. It’s getting old.

On mondays I work a full 10 hour shift. That’s after coming in and cleaning up after Ameer. It’s been extremely frustrating. The whiplash from the July car accident isn’t healing because of the physical aspect and doing extra is just killing me.

The stress from dealing with all the bullshit, and the physical pain, means I’m one mean grumpy bitch by the time I get home to deal with the stress and bullshit that goes on here at home.

No word on when Lori is even coming back. Hopefully soon because Karen and I are both over all of it. We’re both putting our resignations in soon.

I’ve been looking on Indeed and I’ve gone on a couple of interviews and have 2 more this week. So prayers would be appreciated for that.

BTW did I mention that LaToya is the dumb bitch who worked all day last Saturday knowing full well she was sick with a fever and muscle aches????? By Sunday 2 residents and 2 nurses were both sick. By Tuesday I was. All Covid positive. Stupid bitch.

So yeah, definitely need to find a new job.

At least my Covid is better and was extremely mild!!!!


Last updated January 15, 2022


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.