I am back after almost a Year. in Lady Loves the Ocean

Revised: 01/15/2022 3:34 p.m.

  • Jan. 14, 2022, 6 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Friday 01/14/22

I have been gone from this format for several months. A lot has happened in that time. At this time I am not really ready to talk about all of it. I just know I wanted to come back here and start keeping a diary again. I hope to connect with the people that I had added to my friend list last time.

I am currently dealing with health problems still. I am a type 2 diabetic, I have Crohn’s disease and CLL leukemia. It’s a lot to deal with. I currently weigh 140 lbs. I am 5’5″ tall. I was having a lot of problems with my medications interacting so I stopped the diabetes meds. I know stupid right. Yep. So at the end of December, I started having some vision problems. Yep, you got it. Diabetes is out of control. Not only did I have an infection, but I have diabetic retinopathy. So the infection was treated. I got back on my meds. But my vision didn’t improve. So the eye dr. decided I needed to have injections in my eyes. This would bring down the inflammation and reduce the fluid behind my eyes. Well, not only was I scared about going blind. Because for a few days I could basically see nothing but a big white blob in front of me. So I agreed to have the first set of injections. That was last Thursday 01/07. I was scared it would be painful. It was not. The prep and after-the-shots were the worst part. The next day after I got the gunk cleared out of my eyes. I felt better. The floaters I was seeing were gone after 3 days. And my vision has improved greatly since. The dr. told me this would NOT happen. That it would take 3-6 sets of shots before my vision would start to improve. I prayed on this so hard. I am happy to say I am back reading and I can drive again. So I am praying that I won’t need as many shots. And that I will be able to get a new script for glasses. ( I wore glasses before. But I had not gotten a new script for 3 years). I hope the dr. will be surprised. And help me move forward without as many shots. My next appointment is 02/04/22.

So I am back on my diabetes meds. Monitoring my blood sugar 3x a day. Because I lost over 80 lbs in the last year I didn’t have to go back to my old scripts for diabetes. I am only taking Metformin 2x a day and Glipizide 1x. No insulin. My sugars run from 80-145. I hope I can maintain this. I have eliminated all sugars, soda, and any other bad foods. I was drinking a lot of soda. I stopped cold turkey. I don’t miss it. Same with sugar. GONE. I don’t miss it. I feel better.

Some will wonder why I did this too myself. I was deep into a depression. I lost my husband, I lost several friends during covid. And I just didn’t care. I fell into trying so hard to help my alcoholic sister that I didn’t even bother with myself. My Drs. would not listen to me about how out of control my Crohn’s was. I couldn’t keep anything in my body. Well, the sugar overload in my body wasn’t helping there. My Crohn’s is in better control now. I have not had a flare since I got back on the diabetes meds. I had really fucked up my body. Now I pay attention again to what goes in my body. And I am so grateful the good lord has given me back my eyesight. I will never take it for granted again.

Wow, I guess I needed to unload. And I said more than I thought I would. I am going to stop here. I will try to stay on track with this because I think it will be good for my mental health.

More later…
Sheri


Last updated January 15, 2022


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.