Saturday 01/15/2022 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Jan. 15, 2022, 10:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Saturday Morning all warm and cozy sitting at my computer.

Can you believe we are halfway through the month of January? Wow. Time flies by it seems. The older I get the quicker time seems to pass. And pass me by it does. I feel like sometimes I am just going through the motions.

I have so many things I want to do in this new year. Not necessarily resolutions but changes that I know need to be made in my life. I know I need to live a healthier life. Eat better, take my meds, exercise as much as I am able. Keep myself in a good place mentally. I would like to meet some new people and make some more friends. Possibly a gentleman friend. And I know I am not going to be able to do that unless I get out of my house. So I am going to push myself to do that. As the weather permits, I am going to get back out walking. There is no place in my small town to do indoor walking. I would have to drive at least 15 miles for that. But on days where it is above freezing, there are a few places that are clear of snow or ice that I can walk. I just have to push myself. Finding the motivation to make these changes is hard. I want to be healthier.

I can’t explain how I felt when I thought I was losing my eyesight for good. The fear. The regret and blame for not taking better care of myself. The thought of maybe never being able to see my son or granddaughter’s faces. Of not being able to drive. Losing my independence. And then not being able to read. The one thing that keeps me sane. I prayed hard to god to get my sight back. And although it is back to the point I can read and drive I do not know how many more shots I will have to have. Or if this is something that I am going to deal with the rest of my life since I am diabetic. The unknowns make me uncomfortable. Hopefully my eye dr. can answer those questions on my visit on 02/04/22. I am grateful my eyesight is better.

We have snow again. I know I live in Iowa and it’s expected this time of year. It doesn’t mean I have to like it. Lol. It started snowing yesterday around noon. We were predicted to get between 3-6 inches. We got around 3.5. So it was not as bad as expected. I am happy I don’t have to go anywhere. My driveway and walk will be cleared sometime today. No more is expected in the 7-day forecast. I am happy about that. But it is supposed to get chilly again. I am ready for spring. I know we have a least another full month of this. I am grateful for a nice warm roof over my head.

I am going to try to stay on task and keep posting here. Writing always helps me keep my thoughts in order. And myself accountable for the things I promise to do for myself. So it is good for me.

Enough for now…

Sheri


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.