Stars in Life

  • May 26, 2014, 6:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I saw them - or spots - or flashes of light, whatever you want to call them. I had stopped at a gas station to grab a drink for a long drive south. I had gotten to our meet up point a couple of minutes early, but the cashier was friendly and we chatted for a second. I stopped by the trashcan to throw a couple of things away. I hopped out, dropped the trash, and whirled back to the car. What I didn't realize was that the door had half closed. I slammed into the corner of the door with my skull - the door won. There was a guy gassing up on the other side of the pumps. He flew over to see if I was ok. I assured him I was. He just kept saying, "but I heard you hit the door!" Yea - I heard it too. Now I have a goose egg that hurts like a mug. I was careful when shampooing and I swear I rolled over on that side 359 times last night. I woke up every single time. A friend through Wildlife and fisheries, that we put on workshops with is having a baby. I'm so happy for her. she just divorced a jerk. She managed to get pregnant twice with him, but lost both babies at about 23 weeks. She was devastated.. He blamed her. She met up with a nice guy while separated and ...well, one think led to another and she got pregnant. Right off the bat. No fertility treatments, no temperature taking....just a little alcohol and a good lucking cajun. :D She's due in about 2 weeks and the pregnancy has been perfect. No problems, no serious morning sickness...she's so happy and she deserves it. She and the cajun are doing well. He wants to move in together, she's wanting to hold off a little. (Honestly, he told us he wants to get married, but he knows she's not ready, she's afraid what it will do to them. She and jerk lived together for 3 years before marrying and that's when it all went to hell. ) So, they are taking it one day at a time. She will give the baby his name, that's a big step. Anyway, we all decided to make a baby quilt for her. We are each making a square and another friend is quilting it. (One square may seem weak, but some of us don't have the crafting gene. lol) If I'm brave enough I'll post my square later.
Ok, I guess I should get off here and get something productive done...or at least cook some supper. Y'all have a good week!


Jigger May 26, 2014

Goodness, girl, you're lucky you didn't damage yourself worse than that!

I am happy for your friend. I do hope they wind up together, whenever she is ready. But he sounds like he'll be patient with her, and that is lovely.

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ May 26, 2014

Yeah, I know it could have been bad, but it missed my temple by a good inch, so I knew I was ok.

Small Town Girl May 27, 2014

Glad you are ok! Watch out for a concussion! What is it about living with a guy? A friend of mine lived with her bf for 5 years, then they got married. Once they got married, it all went to shit.

JadedAngel68 May 27, 2014

OUCH, that sounds like something I would do. Hope your head feels better soon.

terriberri May 28, 2014

babies come when they are meant to....and not a second before. crazy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.