Covid in Life As I Know It - 2022

  • Jan. 12, 2022, 4:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I tested positive this morning. I had no symptoms yesterday. Around 130pm I realized I had a headache but I get them so often I didn’t pay much attention to it.

Came home and ate, went to bed. In the middle of the night I started having a deep dry cough that makes my lungs feel like they are on fire. This morning I woke up with a bad sore throat.

Normally I’d have just decided I had bronchitis back that I had a couple of weeks ago and just treated the symptoms. But this week we found 5 confirmed Covid cases in the assisted living facility I work at. 3 nurses and 2 residents so far.

I was off today anyway but was supposed to see the chiropractor and have Azzy all day. When I woke up with all these symptoms I decided to call work and see if they felt I should get tested since I’m scheduled to work Thursday and Friday.

They told me they are out of rapid tests and told me to go to urgent care place on 7th street. So Pat and I went there. He’s been having sinus symptoms since Sunday but he decided to get tested just in case too.

Turns out he owes this urgent care place $263 so they wouldn’t see him unless he paid half today. Which we don’t have so he didn’t get tested there. I needed the rapid results because of work so I did it.

We took the positive report to my job and was told I’m off for 7 days and get retested on Monday. Then we went to a drive thru testing place for him. He won’t know for 3-5 days.

So we’ve quarantined ourselves to the bedroom and wear our masks if we use the bathroom or have to go downstairs.

I don’t feel too horrible. Mostly just headachy and super fatigued. I’ve slept since we got home. Not much appetite though I forced myself to eat half a grilled cheese. Also a chocolate shake to soothe my throat.

I’ve had both Pfizer vaccines and just got the booster last Wednesday. So I don’t expect I’ll get too sick.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.