December Reads in Books

  • Jan. 11, 2022, 1:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Queen of Quarantine (I accidentally put this one in my November Reads entry, but actually finished it in December.)
Author: Carline Peckham and Susanne Valenti
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: This last book was just all spice. I’m pretty sure it was in every chapter. I’m glad I stuck this one out, as much as I dislike the bully romance early on, it all calmed down by the end. I ended up loving more of the characters and can see why these books are loved by many.
Quote: Audiobook.

November 9
Author: Colleen Hoover
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: I don’t remember any spice in this book....
Thoughts: I love a CoHo book. This one is up there on the ones I’ve read from her. The plot twist, the concept. I love her writing, she really knows how to get you in your feels.
Quote: Audiobook. But, this is a quote that does stand out and hit me in the gut, “We keep his baby monitor on at night…” If you’ve read the book, you know.

Queen Takes Queen (Their Vampire Queen #3)
Author: Joely Sue Burkhart
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: I’m just really trying to get through this series. I just want to know what happens already! I really like the world in this one and all the little nuances. As soon as I think I understand the concept and feel like nothing can be added to it, something new pops up. I also love me a RH.
Quote: None.

Our Thing: The Ballerina & The Butcher Boy Duet
Author: Nicci Harris
Stars: 3/5
Peppers: 3/5
Thoughts: Check the TWs on this one. I saw a TikTok on this one, and was really hoping for something good. But, this one was really hard to follow. I feel like we just kept jumping from one crazy thing to the next before the prior conflict was resolved. It kind of read like a FanFic and I feel like there was more drama than was necessary.
Quote: None.

Scream for Us
Author: Molly Doyle
Stars: 3/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: This was another all smut, easy read. It was a wild ride. It involves men in masks and unlocked a new kink.
Quote: “If you ever fucking touch her again, I’ll put you down like a sick dog.”

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 0/5
Thoughts: These books are so hard for me to get through. I’m so glad I can listen to them instead. I’ve also blew through a bunch and can’t keep straight what happens in each book. So, yeah....
Quote: Audiobook.

Queen Takes Rook (Their Vampire Queen #4)
Author: Joely Sue Burkhart
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: I don’t know what it is about these books, but I love them. That is all.
Quote: “They judge us amoral, twisted, and deviant, when the very acts of sex and giving birth show our connection to the Mother. She lives on in every woman, whether we choose to have children or not. We create love in the world. What greater magic can there be?”

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 0/5
Thoughts: FINALLY. Daddy Rowan. That is all.
Quote: Audiobook.

The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass #0.1-0.5)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Stars: 3/5
Peppers: 0/5
Thoughts: I’m broken. Didn’t think I would cry, since we already know the end here. But, gotdamn.
Quote: Audiobook.

The Plight Before Christmas
Author: Kate Stewart
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 3/5
Thoughts: Kate Stewart has done it again. I had an aversion to Christmas themed books and swore up and down I wouldn’t do it. And then one of my favorite authors released this, and all my aversions went out the window. Kate really hit the mark on this and it was everything I didn’t know I needed. This book has reset my soul. I loved everything about this book; the plot, the banter, the family. I laughed and sobbed throughout the book. Reading this every season will now be a tradition.
Quote: “The growing pains may sting like a motherfucker, but they’re necessary to help you figure out what’s most valuable. Once you know what’s most important to you, it all becomes crystal clear.”

Dipped In Holly
Author: Dana Isaly
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: Another just short, smutty palate cleansing read. Holiday themed. Age gap, kinky. The only thing I had to skip over was every time Holly referred to Nick as “Daddy”. Not my thing.
Quote: “If I dip my fingers inside of these lacey panties, am I going to find you wet for me?”

xx Shea


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.