New year, new temari in Temari

  • Jan. 10, 2022, 11:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I said I wanted to start trying new patterns, so here we go.

alt text

I LOVE this temari. I tried it once before, but didn’t really read the pattern instructions closely and as such was entirely disappointed in it. This one I did for my January handmade and trade partner and now I don’t want to send it to her, because I love it so much. Eight hours of stitching in this temari.

Another view:
alt text


alt text

The fish temari. I liked this one. It stitched up faster than I expected given the constant side switching and colour switching I had to do.

I like that the negative-space image is a fish. Typically they are flowers on temari, so having something a bit different was fun to do.


alt text

The Irish, or 4-leaf clover ball. I don’t particularly like how this one turned out. I think it’s because the green guidelines are too visible. I would like to try it again on a black mari. But it’s a time consuming one again, so it might be awhile before I return to this pattern.

Of course, because I don’t like this one, it’s already been sold. I don’t know why people like the ones I don’t, but personal taste I guess is an interesting thing.

Another view where the clovers become more obvious:

alt text


alt text

A simple variegated red thread on black, with one line of spaced stitching at the end of the points.

alt text

It’s not super obvious looking at it, but it’s about 2.5cm smaller in diameter than what I typically make. I’m trying to use up the foam cores and the thread that I have here at the house before I buy more, so there will be a couple dozen or so of this smaller size by the time I’m finished.

And that’s where temari things are at 10 days into January.


Firebabe January 10, 2022

I love them all but I do kind of really like the guidelines on the clover one, maybe because they give it sort of an abstract feel? Whatever the reason, I'd take a second look for sure, and then probably end up buying it because you simply cannot take me to any kind of crafts show and leave me unattended. LOL.

Jigger Firebabe ⋅ January 10, 2022

I like it, too, and for the same reason! And that red one at the end. Wow. And the fish. And all of them.

auburn_girl Firebabe ⋅ January 10, 2022

Maybe? The book said use thread that is the same colour as the base, so I guess I was expecting it to be less obvious. Also, maybe because I was expecting that I feel as though I used the 'wrong' green and that's why you can see them so much.

I think a black mari, with black guidelines and black and red stitching would be sharp! Not sure if silver or metallic red would be nicer though for the metallic stitching. OR, OR, OR ... RED MARI WITH BLACK!! It would look like poppies then. Hmmmmm.....

Firebabe auburn_girl ⋅ January 10, 2022

Yes, I can picture the red one with black and I think it would look like a poppy. Very cool idea! You'll have to make one--ytou know, with all your spare time 😄--and see how it turns out.

Calicakes January 11, 2022

I love them all and that black hand you have them displayed in.

auburn_girl Calicakes ⋅ January 11, 2022

Thanks! I found that at Winners this weekend.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.