Streak broken.... in Flash

  • May 26, 2014, 7:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I broke my streak at 750 words yesterday. I would have had 500 days on the 30th.

I had a good day yesterday. I was busy. There was a lot going on. I never thought of writing my 750 words at all. It never crossed my mind.

At the end of the day I was tired and I just went to bed.

During the 'almost 500 days' I wrote under a lot of adverse circumstances. I and others sacrificed a lot so that I could keep writing every day. Sometimes it was pure drivel. Worse than poor drivel, it was poor, forced drivel, but I did it every day.

Sometimes though my prose soared. And sometimes I said things that needed to be said.

I'm not really expecting sympathy for such a trivial failure. Though no doubt you will be kind enough to offer it.

I will get back on my horse and try again. I'll write twice today.

Here's a picture from January 2013.

 photo DSC04835.jpg


Ragdolls May 27, 2014

BentnotBroken May 27, 2014

Agreed,with Oulin. :-)

noko May 27, 2014

I was absolutely certain I had missed a day there a little while ago and I know how you feel. I had to come to grips with a sense of blowing my streak and checking to see if I felt bad. I loved the Pegasus and was sad to give it up so the good thing is that you can earn a new one if you decide to carry on. I really do think writing there helps my mood and my winter blues in particular. I have a check off sheet I use every day because Sammy's med schedule is so complicated. I have 750 Words on there. otherwise I would so have a day like you just did. And I will. One of these days. Also I was thrilled to find out that I can write in Word throughout the day and copy and paste in and that is not cheating. I type so slowly sometimes I just don't have the half hour it takes me.

woman in the moon noko ⋅ May 27, 2014

750 words is a different place. i do different things there. i am glad to be building up a bank of entries there that I can go back and look at.
on-line writers are a funny tribe. we get our satisfactions where we can. thanks for the kind words.

switchy May 30, 2014

way to go. it's not about perfectionism, it's about today. and I found this entry inspiring. :-)

Tick Tock Tick June 15, 2014

Life is all about "days off," if you ask me. Not to worry. Commendable how much you've done and two today! // I will look longingly at your snowy photo next week when we are dripping in the heat and humidity.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.