Lunch for Tuesday, 10/1/13 in Fud

  • Oct. 1, 2013, 2:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lunch for Tuesday, 10/1/13

Clockwise from top left:

  • Cheddar Bunnies

  • steamed rice
  • steamed corn
  • fresh basil
  • tuna salad (tuna, mayonnaise)

  • fresh strawberries

  • canned pineapple

    We finally used up the short-grained rice so I was able to make a batch of jasmine rice this weekend, which she likes plain. The strawberries she eats tops and all so I just washed them and didn't bother to cut them. Fresh produce is getting a little sketchy, it's the season. When we buy something we pretty much have to use it within a day or two. I had to cut up the rest of the box of strawberries and freeze them, carving off the bad parts.

    CONCLUSION: Everything was eaten except a bit of the rice. She said that she ran out of time but that she liked it all.


    Today we have a two-for-one deal!

    Lunch for Tuesday, 10/1/13

    Clockwise from top left:

  • steamed rice
  • raw carrots
  • steamed corn
  • ham steak

  • fresh strawberries

  • canned pineapple

  • chocolate chip granola bar

    Allow me to debut the first of my 10-year old son's lunches. He has a cafeteria account at school but has not been consistently making good food choices - we've been working with him on it and cutting him some slack but after a month I've had my fill. Today (Monday) he drank a Switch which is pretty much a soda made with fruit juice, and forgot to eat any actual food. I took him on an errand before dinner just to make sure he got good and uncomfortable with his rumbling stomach to make the point.

    From here on out he will have a single pool of cash that he can draw from to buy whatever he wants, but when it's gone, it's gone. He or I will pack his lunches and he can buy the occasional muffin or donut or Switch or whatever with the spare cash. He's not too happy about this arrangement but we'll see how it goes. Ideally I'll have him packing his own lunch every day by the end of this month.

    I asked him if he wanted a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, or rice and leftover ham steak from dinner. He said rice and ham, and so here it is. This is one of my slick little bento boxes so that kid had better not lose any of the pieces or I'll have his head.

    CONCLUSION: My son is a very picky eater. He supplemented his lunch with chocolate covered pretzels and microwave popcorn, and left half of the fruit, most of the carrots, the rice, and a third of the ham. He also didn't eat the granola bar. I read him the riot act about eating what he is packed first and having extra junk snacks after. I'm a little annoyed with him.


  • Deleted user October 01, 2013

    HAM STEAK. NOM.

    Jane Says Deleted user ⋅ October 01, 2013

    Gross in photos - tasty in reality :)

    You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.