What a start to the week in Thoughts

  • Jan. 5, 2022, 3:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Back to work is always hard after the New Year. I quite enjoy my job and have done for the past 7 years, but there is something in me now that is telling me is probably time to move on. I could happily stay doing what I do but progression higher is unlikely to occur. I’m in one of those dilemmas where I’m trained to the same level as my manager but they themselves are older and will likely see out there job until they retire. Which is a good 3/4 years away. In that time it will also be difficult to progress pay wise in my current role now that I’m at the top of the scale I sit in.

Its something I’ve thought of a lot before but never really acted upon it but now I really think its time. It may actually be the freshness I need to really start putting things behind me from the last couple of years and to really “start fresh”.

Anyway I’m rambling. This week has turned out to be mega busy. I work in an office doing process related work for our organisation. We work using a case management system and prior to Xmas we managed to get down to around 15 cases whilst we went on leave. This is great as we usually do anywhere between 500/1000 cases per month between 11 people. So to get down to 15 before break was really good. However clearly our organisation decided to have the same idea and leave stuff until they came back from there leave. In the course of 3 days we have had almost 2/3 of our monthly amount sent it already. January is usually busy but in 7 years this is by far the busiest.

This has also put me in the weird position of not being able to sleep properly. And its not because of work stress. But I the only way I can explain it is that the last few days of work have made me so tired that by the time I finish up for the day. Its not late enough to go to sleep that I know I wont then wake up in the middle of the night, but also its just late enough to not be able to take nap because I definitely wont sleep. So I’m getting to around 10pm the last 3/4 days getting tired, yawing, the whole works, just to then lay there until almost bang on 3am before I remember passing out. And then be up again at half 6 to get ready for another day.

So right now I’m running on about 12 hours sleep in 4 days which is not ideal.

It probably is work stress and I’m just not processing it right in my head, but i know I’m definitely not thinking about work so it could just be subconsciously keeping me awake. I don’t know. Anyway its time to get ready for bed now as I’m already past the wall this evening and not tired again. I think ill read my book for half hour and see (fingers crossed) if that will help me get more than 3 hours sleep tonight.

I hope everyone else has had a good start to your New Years!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.