Learning to love reading. in Thoughts

  • Jan. 2, 2022, 2:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve never been a huge reader, I’m more of a sit in front of a computer screen kind of person than a book. I love technology and there is so much about computer and the internet in general that I just find amazing. Add gaming, streaming services and browsing on top of that and computers in general are incredible tools for people to just lose themselves a whole day without even thinking about it.

As I said I’m not a huge reader, far from it. In the past 5 years I have probably read 10 books. If that. And that’s not because I don’t like them its just they don’t usually grip me for long.

That is until now. I can’t get over this book I’m reading by Vex king called “Good Vibes, Good Life”. Its actually been a great help in me understanding how low I have been recently and actually for the first time in about 8 months, the last week or so I have felt really positive. With this positivity I just need to start acting upon things rather than hiding in my room all day long.

There is a wonderful sentence that I have just come across in this book that I really wanted to write about. It goes:

“You won’t be important to other people all of the time, and that’s why you have to be important to yourself. Learn to enjoy your own company. Take care of yourself. Encourage positive self-talk - and become your own support system. Your needs matter, so start meeting them yourself. Don’t rely on others.

This is just wonderful especially in my circumstance and the way that I have felt over the past couple of years. And its so easy to forget a lot of things about ones self when you don’t have much self esteem or self worth.

This is why reading has got me really inspired at the moment. If it wasn’t for little quotes like this in this book and many others that I will go on to read, then I think I would still be in a quite a negative place.

Tomorrow I want to go to a coffee shop by myself and take my book and read. I’ve never done this before. But tomorrow I’m going to try it. And not care what people might think of me. I’m going to do it for myself.

I hope everyone is having a wonderful day where ever you may all be situated. :)


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.