My Masarti does 185 in One day at a time

  • May 25, 2014, 4:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yippee Skippee the Eagles are coming to New Zealand. (I was going to title this Heartache tonight, but that would smack of drama queen). It's not until March next year (in Auckland). I was quite surprised to get a text from Richard "Eagles, Auckland, yes?" that's an awful long time away. We went out last night and talked about it some more. They are also playing at Hanging rock in Melbourne, which would be awesome. He offered to pay for us to fly over there, and at first I was keen. Until I realised it was on my wedding anniversary (and consequently the day before my 50th birthday). Can't do it. I didn't tell him that, just said Auckland would be way easier.

Work had been crazy busy. I still haven't broached the pay issue. It is really hard when you have 2 bosses and they don't have defined roles. We also don't have anywhere private in the office. Not so nice lady boss heads off to Europe next weekend, so I may take the cowards way and corner remaining boss after that.

Being so busy, I really appreciate the weekends. This morning I went to a cancer society fundraiser breakfast and can't help feeling a bit annoyed at the number of people that wanted free travel advise (to then book on-line), and the people who wanted to winge about their current agent. Felt like I had done a day at the office by the time I came home.

My group made the Norfolk Island newspaper. For once it was a really nice photo of everyone. Rockstar moment!


banker chick May 25, 2014

On a dark desert highway... Cool wind in my hair.... :)

Deleted user May 25, 2014

Good luck having the chat with your boss/es :)

Indoorkitty May 27, 2014

Hotel California a fav song of mine. I hope you get to see them. And I have ask . . . I've never seen/heard of the word winge before. What does it mean?

bobbi01 Indoorkitty ⋅ May 27, 2014

Haha, I didn't realise winge was a local thing (but that makes sense). It describes someone that we would call a winger (moaner) so when they moan they winge or are winging. It's pronounced win ja - now use it in a sentence. LOL

Indoorkitty bobbi01 ⋅ May 28, 2014

Customers have to be the worst wingers I've seen. Lol. Is that right? That's the plural form?

bobbi01 Indoorkitty ⋅ May 28, 2014

Perfect! although collectively they would be known as a bunch of wingers. LOL

tranquil June 16, 2014

Ok, I feel stupid because I was going to say I've heard of the Eagles but don't really know their music.

Truth is I probably know them but just don't know their songs by name or something. I think I was too young when they were out or something! Also if I hadn't read your other noters in regard to 'Hotel CA' I would have not known how they sounded. I do know the song and like it if I hear it on the radio. I've heard it now and then over the years!

ps. Winge isn't an American word at all but after reading several british writers on OD & here, I've seen the word used over and over (and assumed it was slang for something)..I kind of figured it out by guessing the context of the words surrounding the word 'winge' in the sentence a few years ago but whenever I see slang that I can't figure out, I will usually ask the person in a note. I think it's interesting learning different countries words or slang!

The weird thing is this whole time I've pronounced the word as like 'winj' (like the e is silent!) in my head and so, I now wonder if it's pronounced the same way in the UK like you described. Do you have similar slang to the UK?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.