Late December at the gardens seemed like Springtime had arrived early in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Dec. 30, 2021, 8:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This past Tuesday, just a few days after Christmas, I ventured out to Magnolia Gardens to escape the noise and commotion from the pressure washing of our house. It would do me good, as I’ve had so much on my mind lately, and needed to clear my head. That garden will always do that. It puts me in a totally different place.

Magnolia is the oldest public garden in the country, created in the late 17th century on the banks of the Ashley River. It is a place of eye-popping beauty, especially in Spring when the grounds are covered in the red, pink,white and orange blooms of azaleas, many of them very old and historic varieties, the same with the huge collection of camellias at the garden.

I have made dozens and dozens of visits to this magical place over the past 35 years now, always with my camera, and always taking a lot of pictures. An artist with a camera can truly blossom here, as I have, because there are so many opportunities for taking photos of birds, flowers, marshes, creeks, swampland, small lakes, the riverfront, statues, and an abundance of live oaks trees with Spanish moss.

What surprised me on my most recent visit this week was the abundance of early daffodils. I don’t think I’ve ever seen them here in December. They are about 5-6 weeks ahead of time. Flowering trees were in bloom also. The sky was blue and the temperature 75 degrees. It looked and felt like late Spring rather than late December. I love this weather, and our winters are usually just about perfect, but obviously Nature is off kilter due to global warming. There isn’t anyone, anyplace on Earth, who isn’t being affected by this. Warm winters always make me wonder what the summer will be like.

Needless to say, with so much in bloom there was no shortage of inspiration for this avid photographer.

Late December at Magnolia Gardens

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/284228


ConnieK January 01, 2022

I'm still waiting for winter to arrive! The weather has been wonky for some time now. Who knows what the year will bring, but I hope for all good things for all of us.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ January 01, 2022

Love it! The eternal optimist!

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ January 01, 2022

LOL!

music & dogs & wine January 01, 2022

I truly adore your photos!

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ January 01, 2022

Many thanks!! 😊

music & dogs & wine Oswego ⋅ January 01, 2022

Do you have an instagram account? I would LOVE to follow it!

Deleted user January 01, 2022

Gorgeous!

I hope this year brings you all kinds of good stuff, friend. I know the transition to an apartment will be a challenge, but beautiful places like this are a balm.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ January 02, 2022

Thank you so much! I wish you all good things in 2022!

Yes, I am afraid I am not handling this transition well, as I dealy love where I am now. The reality is that I can’t afford this lifestyle anymore. So I will adapt and hope for the best, including new friends! 😌

Deleted user Oswego ⋅ January 02, 2022

Perhaps once you are fully settled in and have a chance to put some you into the new place, it will help. It's hard to leave a house for an apartment, not to mention leave a family home for an apartment, but if you put up some of your most cherished things from the house, it will feel more like a home.

Jinn January 10, 2022

You are fortunate to live in the South. Our weather in Illinois has been mild so far but it’s still winter ; gray, damp and cold . Bleak.

Oswego Jinn ⋅ January 11, 2022

I am so thankful for sunny, blue skies every day, and temps just cool enough to feel like winter. This time of year almost makes me forget about hurricane season! 🤔🥺

Jinn Oswego ⋅ January 11, 2022

Almost :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.