Could be worse - 25.05.14 in Your Face

  • May 24, 2014, 7:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel as though things are so unfair. I am missing out on so much, I am wasting my life sitting in this stinking house, etc. But it could be so much worse. I will only have to wait 11 or so months - there are couples out there who have to wait years, who miss out on watching their kids grow up, who have no light at the end of their tunnel.

I am just very frustrated, and it's easy to fall into a pit of despair over it. That's why I am trying to remember that it's not that bad. It's bad, yes, but not the worst it could be.

I rode my bike yesterday, it went well. It took 50 minutes to get from my house to the shopping centre, and I stopped in there and had some lunch. It probably took me an hour to get home, as I needed to stop a few times for water. Getting up the last (quite steep) hill to my house was awful, I had to push it up part of the hill. But, I made it. Next time I decide to do it (which will be next weekend - it is dark by the time I leave work and I am extremely reluctant to ride on a fairly deserted track in the dark) it should be easier. And, if I get a bit tired and want to tell myself that it's too hard, I can think back to how I have done it before, so it can't be that bad.

Not too sore today, just aching a bit. I did come home and help my brother move furniture in and out of the house and clean out the shed, so I figure I burned at least a million calories yesterday.

Nothing scheduled for today, which is nice. I am just going to hang around the house a bit, maybe take a nap, as I woke up at dawn's crack this morning and couldn't get back to sleep.

Slight scare: the cartons I shipped out on Thursday got held up at Customs in Los Angeles. I am assuming they just got inspected due to one of them being very firmly packed, and having a Playstation in it - the x-ray was probably a but dubious. By the time I got back from my bike ride a few hours later, the cartons were on their way again. Relief. I desperately need them to go through with no issues, because the courier that collects them has been nice enough to let me leave the boxes sealed, instead of making me cut them open so he can inspect the contents before they ship. I have another 10 cartons to ship out, so I don't want any problems! I am not shipping anything controversial, but I still worry.

I have to put my car up for sale in the next week. That is freaking terrifying. I love my car, and while I have no issue with getting buses or riding the bike to get where I need to be, it's the idea of being without a vehicle that bothers me. I think this is the first time in my life that I've been worried about it - I've been without a car several times before in my life, and have managed just fine. I think it's just nerves, because the sale of the car is one of the last things I need to do before I leave.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.