Reality sets in: A treasured family home will soon live on only in my memories in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Dec. 19, 2021, 3:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Every evening and late into the following morning, I sit on the long and spacious sofa in the den of our family home in the historic district of town — wistful, sad, hopeful — knowing this beautiful house, which has been “home” to me for 26 years, will soon be only memories and photo files in a special online album. This house where I took care of my mother for ten years as she struggled so bravely with dementia, has a buyer now, and it’s only a matter of time before I move I move to the apartment I’ve rented inanother part of town, fairly close by but light years away in most respects.

I will miss everyday the powerful presence of Mom’s spirit in this house which she loved dearly. Designed by my architect brother, the den has 11-foot ceilings and 8-foot tall fixed French doors with multiple window panes which stretch the entire length of this enormous room, allowing expansive views of the trees and garden just beyond, and flooding the room with sunshine most days of the year. It is a light-filled and cheerful sanctuary which I kept full of flowers for Mom, and still do in memory of her. It was the center of all our family gatherings. I feel sure Mom lived to be 96, despite her diabetes and dementia, because of this gloriously-designed room. This isn’t to say I don’t have very painful memories of Mom’s suffering terribly with episodes of Sundowner Syndrome and other manifestations of dementia’s cruel course and onslaught in this room where she spent most of her waking hours, especially in the late evenings as her dementia got worse over the years.

It’s really unbearable at times to think about giving all this up, as necessary as that is because the costs to keep the house are unsustainable for me. My two siblings have two-thirds ownership, and they certainly don’t want to keep the house, which could have been where I lived out my last days, and passed away here just as Mom did — at home. But selling it will make all our retirement years more secure. So I have to be a realist, as difficult as that is for me in this particular instance.

I know I must look ahead to a future where this house has become irretrievably part of the past, remembered and cherished, but no longer part of my life.

The good news is that the prospective buyers are dear family friends we’ve known for 45 years. I will be welcome to visit and sit out on my beloved porch, but of course it won’t be the same and will be quite awkward at first.

Again tonight I will sit here on the sofa, enjoying all the Christmas decorations I have set out, which in addition to a little tree, includes a small, lighted Lemax Christmas village with six structures including two houses, a restaurant, grist mill, candy shop and bakery. All are decorated for Christmas and lit from the insides with small bulbs that cast a warm and mellow glow. I also have a snowman, winter Christmas flower box, and pop-up decorative Christmas cards. It’s all very cozy and reassuring.

But it’s very sad, too, knowing this will be my last Christmas in this, our family homestead, which will always be “Mom’s House.”

Our home and garden, soon to be treasured memories only:

https://flic.kr/p/2mRC3qs

My Lemax Christmas village “Main Street”

https://flic.kr/p/2mRxSBi


Last updated December 19, 2021


music & dogs & wine December 19, 2021

Your home sounds (and looks) lovely! I'm happy you will be able to visit in the future. If you don't mind, where is this house? It's beautiful! I'm guessing in the south?

Happy Holidays :)

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ December 20, 2021

Thank you! It’s in Charleston, SC, a beautiful and historic city by the sea. I’m very fortunate to live here.

music & dogs & wine Oswego ⋅ December 20, 2021

Ahhhh I was thinking maybe New Orleans. I would love to visit Charleston, my parents have gone twice and they love it!

ConnieK December 19, 2021

It's hard to give up some homes. Our family had the same issues with the beach cottage. It was too much for any "one" of us to maintain but hard to leave the memories.

You must take your Christmas village with you. Next year, you will see it but you will also revisit your childhood home in your mind and in your heart.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ December 20, 2021

I enjoy the Christmas village more each year! :)

Hope you have a very nice Christmas and aHappy New Year! Your optimism will serve you well.

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ December 20, 2021

I wish you a very happy holiday, as well, dear man. Here's hoping 2022 will bring us nothing but good/happy things. :)

Deleted user December 19, 2021

I hear you. It was so hard to sell my childhood home. It's the end of an era.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ December 21, 2021

That indeed is a good way to put it!

Telstar December 20, 2021

I have occasion to drive by the house we lived in when I was a kid.

At first it bothered me. Now, as time goes by and the present owners make their changes, it's no longer "our house" - except in memories.

Oswego Telstar ⋅ December 21, 2021

Yes, that’s what concerns me. It will be the same house, but totally different also. It will feel very strange passing by.

Telstar Oswego ⋅ December 22, 2021

Actually it got better over time.

We moved when I was in high school & it was tough at first. But the new owners added on to it and painted the brick gray (for some unknown reason) and it morphed into what it is today.

Plus, you get more memories at later residences.

Newzlady December 20, 2021

It’s a lovely home and I would also love that room. I’ve always had a thing about French doors. I hope you do go back and visit and that it’s not overly awkward to do so.

Jinn December 22, 2021

What a gorgeous house ! I love The Village too . I think you are being very brave about moving.

Oswego Jinn ⋅ December 23, 2021

Thank you, I wish I was brave about this. I’m really taking it hard. It’s like my whole life is changing, I’m 70, and I just want to stay put here where I’m comfortable and happy, but of course, life is all about change and growth, so I don’t want to stagnate. I could continue living like this indefinitely, but I’d roll through my retirement savings even more quickly than Iam now! “C’est la vie,” eh?”Lol

Jinn Oswego ⋅ December 23, 2021

Hoping you like your apartment. If you can be comfortable there and make it seem like home ; leaving the house won’t matter so much . It definitely will be a lot easier to keep clean. That house is huge !

MageB December 22, 2021

I'm just glad to see another family in my childhood home. Take lots of pictures before you leave.

Oswego MageB ⋅ December 23, 2021

Oh, yes! I’ve taken many, many pictures!

Bird of Paradise December 24, 2021

I can only imagine.... ~thinking of you~
The Noter above me said to take Pictures and you said you did.
I did that with my Grandma's house before they sold it. I had 58 years of memories in that house. And I did the same at my Childhood house. My Mom has been in it for 61 years thus far. Another Noter said it was the end of an Era. That too. It's an odd feeling.

Oswego Bird of Paradise ⋅ December 26, 2021

Yes, thank goodness for digital cameras. I have been taking a lot of spontaneous photos of the inside and exterior of my house. These will conjure up poignant memories of this house my mother loved so much. I’m glad my mother had so many years here!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.