Were We Ever? Don't Let Go. I Never Let Go. in Poetry is the Window to the Soul...

  • Dec. 6, 2021, 5:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“Were We Ever (I Never Let Go)”

Were we ever a stirring rhythm?
Ever a chord meant for note?
Was life ever something more real
More significant
And substantive
Than the stars in the sky
That will always shine down
Shine down
Shine down on us
No matter what

Life once felt more of electricity
Startling waves that travel to and from
The neural receptors
Changing vectors within
The patchwork of my craving mind

And now it feels so much more ordinary
You, so less than extra ordinary
And all that made me different
In my life and in my mind
Slowly beaten from
The beautiful madness
Of creativity
Forced into the slavery
Of a more modern kind of thought

Balance the claimed essence
Of my chemically stolen aggression
Passion meted out
In favor of a more docile
Controllable spark
Of all I knew of love

I have lost

Scatter me to the stars
Pour out for the scars
And remember all that made you
Is always one moment
From being undone

That is love

Beautiful madness seated within the stars
Creative sadness exorcising all the harm
Here I am naked and afraid
Vulnerable within your arms

Don’t let go
(I never let go.)

Don’t let go
(You always let go.)

Don’t let go
(I can never let go.)

And then I’m gone.

© Brian Milici
December 6, 2021

May you always find your smile.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.