November Reads in Books

  • Dec. 5, 2021, 12:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Her Soul for Revenge
Author: Harley Laroux
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 4/5
Thoughts: I love these books so much. Harley Laroux is one of my favorite authors and she delivered with this one. This is book #2 in the Souls Trilogy. Zane and Juniper are up there with some of my favorite characters. However, I think I will always be Team Leon & Rae. This book wrapped up a lot of the loose ends and unknown plot points in book one and brought everything together. I really loved learning about the things that were mentioned briefly in the first book. And the spice and kinks in this book are chef’s kiss. Heavy on the trigger warnings and there is an entire half a page warning at the start, so proceed with caution.
Quote: “Give a human knowledge, and he thinks he’s wise. Give a human magic, and he thinks he’s strong. Give a human religion, and he’ll think he’s right.”

Bad Alpha
Author: Kathryn Moon
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: Having a couple books from favorite authors on through the month is always ideal. I am obsessed with the Lola books and the entire Sweet Omegaverse by Kathryn Moon, so I was ready for it going in. While I loved this book and thought it was well written, this isn’t one that I would read again. Loved the plot and the spice, but I didn’t get attached to any of the characters in this one.
Quote: “They were the kind of men who would sacrifice their own lives for someone in need. It was all a little melodramatic for my tastes.”

Promises & Pomegranates
Author: Sav R. Miller
Stars: 3/5
Peppers: 3/5
Thoughts: This book was hyped all over BookTok, so I had high hopes. But I found there were a lot of holes in the plot. Especially at the end, things were being brought up as if they had been discussed in earlier chapters and you were supposed to feel a certain way. I don’t know, I was not feeling this one at all.
Quote: “You cannot love a person fully without knowing the darkness etched into their soul.”

Queen of the Reapers
Author: Jessa Halliwell
Stars: 3/5
Peppers: 4/5
Thoughts: I’m already pulled into these books so I have to see them through. But, these books just don’t hit the mark. A lot of the plot has been so over done, and seems taken from other books with a similar concept (organized crime, men who rule the city, reverse harem). There are a lot of plot points that are almost identical to Den of Vipers. But, like I said, I’ve started and need to see what happens, even if I’m rolling my eyes regularly throughout reading.
Quote: “You’re so hell bent on taking care of everyone else. On making sure every other person in your world is okay. But tell me, who the fuck takes care of you, Stevie?”

Marked Omega
Author: Lizzy Bequin
Stars: 3/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: I needed some straight smut to read between some of these books this month. Just simple, quick, couple hundred page reads to pass the time. This one was just purely sex. Post apocalyptic vibes, alpha men, single omega woman, they rescue the day and all they want to do is breed her. I’m not mad about it.
Quote: I didn’t highlight anything in this smut.

Kings of Lockdown
Author: Caroline Peckham and Susanne Valenti
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 3/5
Thoughts: I hate a bully romance. They’re some of my least favorites. But, when I start a book in a series and I have to see what happens. I get fully invested in my books. And these authors are notorious for ending books on cliffhangers, so I have to. I read the first book a couple months ago and read the last three this month. All of it is blending, so I couldn’t tell you exactly what happened in this one.
Quote: Audiobook.

Kings of Anarchy
Author: Caroline Peckham and Susanne Valenti
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 4/5
Thoughts: See previous. I do recall in this book the bullying stopped and more of my favorite romancing happened. So, there’s that.
Quote: Audiobook.

Queen Takes Knights (Their Vampire Queen Book #1)
Author: Joely Sue Burkhart
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: Another just purely smut quick read with vampires and blood and reverse harems. Love it.
Quote: I didn’t highlight anything.

Queen Takes King (Their Vampire Queen Book #2)
Author: Joely Sue Burkhart
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: More vampire smut.
Quote: Didn’t highlight anything in this one either.

Queen of Quarantine
Author: Carline Peckham and Susanne Valenti
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: This last book was just all spice. I’m pretty sure it was in every chapter. I’m glad I stuck this one out, as much as I dislike the bully romance early on, it all calmed down by the end. I ended up loving more of the characters and can see why these books are loved by many.
Quote: Audiobook.

Flock (The Ravenhood Book #1)
Author: Kate Stewart
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 3/5
Thoughts: The lake scene will forever live rent free in my head.
Quote: “My greatest hope is to be in all-consuming love. My biggest fear is to be in all-consuming love.”

Exodus (The Ravenhood Book #2)
Author: Kate Stewart
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 3/5
Thoughts: I’ve read this series no less than six times before this and I sob like a little bitch this entire book.
Quote: “Until we meet again. Until we can feel the rain on both of our faces. There has to be a time for us in the next life. I don’t want any part of a heaven where I don’t see you.”

The Finish Line (The Ravenhood Book #3)
Author: Kate Stewart
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 3/5
Thoughts: The third book is probably one of the more underrated in the series. Once people get through Exodus they usually stop because that book will fucking devastate you. But, get to this one, read it, and I think it’ll give you the closure you need. This love story is messy, but things work out in the end. But this entire series has changed me as a person, and I adore them so much.
Quote: “Dream with me again, Cecelia. Dream a thousand more dreams with me, and I will make them all come true. I can give you promises. Promises I couldn’t before.”


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.