Ten ways to confront the climate crisis without losing hope in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Dec. 2, 2021, 4:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The world as we knew it is coming to an end, and it’s up to us how it ends and what comes after. It’s the end of the age of fossil fuel, but if the fossil-fuel corporations have their way the ending will be delayed as long as possible, with as much carbon burned as possible. If the rest of us prevail, we will radically reduce our use of those fuels by 2030, and almost entirely by 2050. We will meet climate change with real change, and defeat the fossil-fuel industry in the next nine years…

Rebecca Solnit

One of our finest living essay writers is Rebecca Solnit. She writes with innovation and style about so many subjects, including my hometown of New Orleans. Here she ponders in her own inimitable way the climate crisis facing the world. Instead to penning a screed of doom and gloom, she reveals ten ways we as individuals can confront this looming crisis and, yes, make a difference. Hope is what she offers, and really that and putting our global ingenuity and will to the task will carry us out of the dire scenarios for future of the planet.

Here is the article:

https://bit.ly/3pkWkdS


Telstar December 02, 2021

I'm not going to worry about what happens in 2050..........

Possibly not in 2030 either.

Oswego Telstar ⋅ December 02, 2021

2030 will be here before you know it! 🥺🤔

Telstar Oswego ⋅ December 02, 2021

But I may not be here in 2030.......................................

Oswego Telstar ⋅ December 02, 2021

You got a point! Same here, but ever the optimist I am! 😌🤔

Telstar Oswego ⋅ December 03, 2021

Likewise I don't want to be a fatalist.

I've led a very good life & I can't imagine it getting any better in the future.

And then there's the curiosity about the next life...........................

Oswego Telstar ⋅ December 03, 2021

Have you formed any ideas what that might be like?

Telstar Oswego ⋅ December 03, 2021

I think it's going to be good.

But I don't think we have the capacity to really imagine it.

Telstar Oswego ⋅ December 03, 2021

My grandparents are there now - and my mother. But they're not waiting on us to get there. We're already there too.

If they were there waiting on us, they'd be unhappy. So there's no sense of time. But that's just my opinion.

ConnieK December 02, 2021

Here's the thing. More people are on board with acknowledging and fixing global warming than ever before. Remember how hard we fought in the 1960s to even get EPA? The younger generations are pushing for a cleaner world. I put my hope in that, along with the strides we are making today.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ December 02, 2021

Yes, exactly. That’s why I have hope, although tenuous. But I won’t ever let that hope go because the alternative is not something I want to contemplate at all.

Jinn December 03, 2021

It’s a very interesting article. I want to save the Earth we have now ( even with the damage we already experience ) and do whatever I can to help that .

WhatDreamsMayCome December 03, 2021

Share more of your hope with us.

Oswego WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ December 04, 2021

I will certainly try to!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.