Wednesday 05/21/14 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • May 21, 2014, 7:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just thought I would drop by and read a few of my friends here. Then just got the urge to write a bit. It was a busy day for me today. I had a job interview this morning. Not sure how I feel about it. They said they liked me but really could not give me the wage I wanted. But were going to discuss with corporate and see if they could get a bit more. She is supposed to call me next week. I need to make a certain amount weekly to pay my bills. I am not going to compromise. I am a good worker with an excellent work ethic. I am worth it. I have applied several place. Sent my resume out to so many companies. My severance package runs out at the end of July. I can collect unemployment then. And if I don't get a decent wage that is what I am going to be doing. These jobs that I am applying for are 20-25 miles from where I live. To make it worth it I have to have a certain amount. I know I left a job I was at for 18 years. I am not going to get what I left with. But I am not going to work for $9 an hour. I can make more on unemployment. Job hunting is frustrating. I send out resumes every day.

I decided to sell my stock that I had in the Company I worked for. I am going to use almost all of it and pay off my mobile home. And then I won't have to worry about a house payment. Just lot rent. That will relieve some stress.

I am 55 going to be 56 in July. I wish I could retire. Another 10 years. My body has been through the ringer the last few years. I have often thought about ssd. But I would probably get turned down. So I will do my duty and work until I can't.

I am still doing the phone thing for a part time job. So I do have income from that. But it's very wishy washy. You can't count on that. Up and down too much to count on it. So it's like it don't count. I basically use it to pay for groceries and gas and if I want something extra. Like a trip to the book store, or consignment shops. Which always gets me in trouble.

My BFF and I are going to make the trip to Florida. But not to Indian Rocks Beach. We are going to compromise. We are going back to Panama City Beach, Florida this year. We can get a cheaper condo and the drive isn't so far. And we still have the beach. I love Indian Rocks Beach, Florida. I would love to live there. And I will miss it. But a beach and my BFF is what I need right now. It's better than not going at all.

I don't have any plans for the holiday weekend. I hope we have good weather so I can get out side and walk and enjoy it. I have gotten some plants and put them in pots and hung them on my porch and from my shepherds hook. They look so pretty. I have a tiger lily yet to plant. I have someone that mows my lawn because I don't have a lawn mower. I need to call him and have get up here it needs cut. I wish he kept better track of his work. Maybe I will get to see my son and his girlfriend this weekend. I hope so.

Ok, I am going to stop here and get ready for bed. I am very tired. No PT tomorrow but i do have a hair cut appointment. Then i will be home.

Take Care, Sheri

alt text

A beautiful Sunset on Indian Rocks Beach ..... home away from home.


Lola Falana May 21, 2014

I have been in your shoes and I know exactly how you feel and it sucks. It's like your enternally waiting. I make $4 less an hour at one job and $2 less an hour at the other job when I got laid off from my orginial job 2 and a half years ago. I will never make what I use to make. So I work 2 jobs soon to be 3 - to part time and one full time. I am sorry your not coming down to I.R. beach this year. I was hoping to meet you. O well there is always next year. Did you check out Indeed and Simply hired ? Those are 2 descent sights. Good luck my friend ~ I will keep you in my thoughts and sending you some positive mo-jo.

Darcy0207 from OD May 21, 2014

I remember worrying about how to pay for one part of overhead if I pay another. I think it's a good idea to be able to pay off your home, and YES it'll ease some of the stress.

Everything Good Rebecca May 23, 2014

Employment issues can be so disheartening. I am glad you know what you're worth and aren't likely to sell out too easily, yet it does seem there just might be the perfect job for you for the next season of life before the retirement season actually comes. I have high hopes for you, and I'm glad you found a way to reduce expenses/stress already.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.