I was gone 1 week. in Tales of Employment.

  • May 19, 2014, 8:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Alrighty, ladies and gentlemen. I have returned from my vacation, which I will give a summary of in another entry, but I went back to work today.

Well, apparently, while I was gone they lost power and the generators failed. Thus, the coolers and freezers were off for like eight hours so the store had to dump EVERYTHING. So, I got into work this morning and we were all unloading like...11 palettes into the coolers and freezers. Bright side, the shelves look great, and the backroom is backstocked completely (minus one case pack I forgot about) and cleaned. So what better way to come back then to a fresh start.

I was told I was missed like 12 times. My most immediate superior was talking to me about how he would rather me be here on days that the truck isn't coming, so as I could do the more complicated tasks. Because on truck days, the tasks consist of bread table, SDAs (checking possible outdated goods or soon to be outdated), and then push the shit from the truck and backstock it. Whereas on the days that I am there that the truck isn't, I have the ability to do 4x4 walks (clean a section of shelving and make sure it's stocked and has the right items, and if not shoot a batch to have pulled.) set planograms, research, etc etc. The other person is only there in the mornings on like 1 or 2 days. While I work mornings 5 days typically. Talking to my immediate superior, he was saying how he doesn't trust the other guy to do the tasks and get them done, and then stretched on into telling me about "the bench." He wants to have people on the staff ready and knowing the stuff that make up his responsibilities, so that the store can promote someone instead of hiring from outside. He was saying how he wants to teach me all the stuff, so that when he moves I could potentially take his job. I didn't ask about any thing like that, he brought it up. So it would seem that I am the top seed for that position when he moves. Just some food for thought. I could potentially do that. I'm open to it. I would like to learn as much as I can, and fuck it...this isn't the career I wanted, but I am clearly advancing and it is paying decent money. In the mean time I can always work on a business plan, do some schooling online, and keep an eye out for other jobs. I am considering looking at an evening job as well, since I work mornings now.

So I was gone for 1 week, and it all went to shit. lol I got back and was told by several people that I am not allowed to go on vacation again. lol

So that sums up my return to the world of employment.

I will write more shit throughout the week to catch up. I just have limited amount of time, due to early mornings, and coming home and working on my getting shit together.

King out.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.