What I'd like to do in Another Open Diary refugee

  • May 20, 2014, 1:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

John booked three days vacation the week after my birthday... we were just talking about what to do with that time, and I had a bright idea... at least I THINK it's a bright idea. I'd love to go over to Tampa and go to the big aquarium, then we can visit with Rita and Dick in Orlando on the way back. I'd think it was best to drive over there and stay overnight so that we can be at the aquarium bright and early and more importantly we can both be well-rested from a good night's sleep - John is thinking we should save the money and stay at Dicks then drive all the way to Tampa from there... one night in a motel can't cost THAT much... Another trip I'd love to make is to go up to St Augustine, the oldest city in the United States... he says we can drive there in a day from here so it would have to be a three-day trip in order to actually see anything up there. I doubt either trip will actually happen because all we ever do is drive to Orlando and sit on Dick's sofa for a few days and sponge some free meals off him while John works on the computer to 'pay' for it, but it's nice to dream. I want a real vacation with my husband! (besides if we go away then I wasn't fibbing when I told the church we'd be out of town next weekend...) The cats will be just fine by themselves for three days.

The other alternative is not to go anyplace at all, but to do a couple of day trips to do the local touristy things before it gets toooooo hot. We could go down to Jupiter and do the lighthouse tour, and I want to do a bird/dolphin/manatee-watching cruise which leaves from just down the road from here. And we HAVE to go see the X-men movie which opens on my birthday... Patrick Stewart is just to die for. :P


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm May 20, 2014

yes he is. a sexy 70 year old man. he got married recently didn't he? take care,

Everything Good Rebecca May 22, 2014

I'm glad you have a vacation to look forward to, even when it is short and will be close to home. These are often the best ones!

^..^Kat May 22, 2014

I like the "stay-cation" idea best. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.