Cut in half in Work

  • May 19, 2014, 2:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today, my boss’s boss called us out one by one. The team is being split – those of us who work on aspects of engagement and involvement to do with social care (in other words, statutory work) will be moving to a new directorate and will be placed in the safeguarding team.

This doesn’t include me; I’ll stay where I am. There will be five people moving including my boss. I am the only one of the old original team not moving because my focus has always been on education and health, not social care. This means that as from 2nd June (yes, as soon as that), my boss will no longer be my manager and I’ll have an interim manager until one is appointed. A newly vacant job is being “upped” so that it will be manager level.

The worst bit of all this is that the person who currently leads on one particular project (the project itself is not social care and is therefore staying) is moving to social care. I am dead scared that I might get lumbered with that work. I don’t want it. I don’t like the project and I don’t believe in it particularly. Several years ago, when a job in this work became vacant, my boss asked me if I wanted it; I said I didn’t then and I still don’t now. This is, of course, all speculation, they might have something else in mind altogether.

Local authorities are rubbish at people management.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.